We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai”

Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier
Ranked #56 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Most Award Thai Restaurant in Napier - The Thai Chef's restaurant was awarded "Thai Select" PREMIUM by the Thai Prime Minister H.E. Yingluck Shinawatra on March 24, 2013 in recognition of their high quality and authenticity of Royal Thai Cuisine. Now you be the Judge.....Deliveries & TakeoutsFully licensed.Lunch Tuesday to FridayDinner 7 nights
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Thai”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We had an enjoyable meal here. The food was very good with an extensive choice.
It was a shame to be sat next to a loud family, when there was alot of choice for tables.
The pricing is a little on the high side.
Generally a good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nedbedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your generous review.

I am sorry for what happens I will investigate this, it might be because the other tables were also booked especially Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

However please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    12
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taradale, null, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We go to Thai Chef a bit....always a great meal, the decor is beautiful and very authentic :) service is great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi thank you very much for another good review. We will keep it up and strive to serve you our best we can.

Kind regards

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Regular customer”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Love this place - quick, fresh, easy thai meals. Lots to choose from and, apart from one busy night that took a while for meals to come out, I have had great nights dining here. Dining or take away, this restaurant is highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedEnZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi thank you for another good review, very much appreciated. This will keep us to maintain the highest standard as possible. Very good to hear that you always have good meals from the restaurant. Cheers. Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Magnificent food with English translations for the dishes that will make you chuckle. Good fast service and BYO license. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Osla_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hello.
Thank you for such a positive review. We are trying out very best to keep our standard this high.
We are now open in Auckland on Parnell. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock NSW Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“World class”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

World class food, absolutly beautiful. They have some funny names on the menu, I had Sexy Little Duck, Pauline had Naughty Little Pig, the flavours are just magnificent, atmosphere and decor very good, the prices are excellent (you get more and better high class food than what they charge for and drinks are at a good price) they even pick you up and drop you back to your motel for no charge. THE BEST Thai food I have ever eaten ANYWHERE. Rgds Pete Levett Woodstock NSW Oz

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hello.
Thank you for such a positive review. We are trying out very beat to keep our standard this high.
We are now open in Auckland on Parnell. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing