We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic Decour with Excellent Food”

Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier
Ranked #56 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Most Award Thai Restaurant in Napier - The Thai Chef's restaurant was awarded "Thai Select" PREMIUM by the Thai Prime Minister H.E. Yingluck Shinawatra on March 24, 2013 in recognition of their high quality and authenticity of Royal Thai Cuisine. Now you be the Judge.....Deliveries & TakeoutsFully licensed.Lunch Tuesday to FridayDinner 7 nights
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exotic Decour with Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The city of Napier is serviced by numerous Thai Restaurants. Some stand out above the hubbub of mediocrity. Thai Chef's in Onekawa, Napier is one of those. My family and I have tried most of the Thai restaurants offered in our city and we automatically tend to gravitate towards Thai Chef's for both dine-in and takeaway.

Front desk staff is always very friendly and polite. Service has always been very good in our opinion. Food is cooked and served very promptly. We usually order a few entrees to get our apetite going - steamed Thai dimsums, Thai spring rolls, and maybe chicken sate. This is usually followed by The Three Alcoholics, Phad Thai, Vege Wok (with tofu) and rice. At times I will order Som Tam Thai (shredded carrot is used instead of green papaya but I make this at home using turnips/swedes. It offers a more comparable taste and texture to green papaya).
Thai sticky rice is always a must when you have lots of sauces and gravy left over.

I highly recommend Thai Chef's in Onekawa, Napier for those who enjoy above average to high end (non-Chinese) asian meals.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OniTora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi

It was so nice to have someone rate us this high.
It was so honor to receive this comment.
We are trying to keep our standard up high as possible.

Kindest regards.

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    12
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience at Thai Chef's”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had dinner at Thai Chef's Restaurant in Napier New Zealand on Sunday night 17 June 2012 - the food was brilliant - so so good - we eat Thai food regularly but this was just that couple of steps ahead - outstanding meal, very very tasty and really nice. Restaurant had lovely, friendly staff who were extremely attentive and the decor too is great - very authentic and well worth a visit - we will be back when we next go to Napier - thanks for a lovely evening!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Astrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi
Thank you so much for giving us a high comment, we are trying our best to keep our standard high

Hope to see you again soon future.

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“easy meal”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Great selection, plenty of seating so you can usually get a booking at shortish notice. lovely food, very good service either dine in or take out

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi thank you for your lovely review we will make sure to keep our standard as high as possible. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
501 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“nothing special here”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

not bad as such, but 'dumbed down' flavours for western palates didn't impress. can do better at other thai restaurants for more value as well

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Hi, I don't think your review is genuine anyway what you said would be judged by the busyness and our popularity of our restaurant. All best described as the most busiest Thai restaurant in Hawkes Bay and the only one which accredited by the Royal Thai Government. Our latest Award is "Thai Select Premium" , this would not be normal then.

Our average mains cost at $18-19 dollars, I think people would like to pay a bit more to get the Premium meal and they know what we use are Premium grade.

Sorry if this is to upset you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious if you're willing to wait”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Went with a large group of friends, was great meal at a decent price but were waiting an hour and a half to receive food. We were a large group so it is understandable that is took a while but was frustrating to see tables around us being served who had arrived much later than us. It would have been very nice to be given an update on why it was taking so long.
That being said it was very good otherwise and will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffiny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Chef's Restaurant Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing