We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining with a view”

The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #9 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

6 of us dined here on the Friday evening of Art Deco weekend, we all gave our meals a 10 out of 10.
2 locals and 4 from Wellington.
Fantastic service from Joshua thank you for looking after us so well.
Food was splendid! I will be recommending this restaurant again to others.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwoz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    299
    79
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Had a nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went here for lunch she had fish and chips and I had whitebait fritters. Very nice. Service was good and all in all a pleasant spot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank di k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Enjoyed our meals here. The service was a bit off though, firstly told us that there would be an hour wait for food as they were busy, you walked into the restaurant and it was half full? Not too sure if they understand what busy is?? in the long run we didnt have to wait long for the food, and when it came out it was delicious food!!! Little bit pricey, more like Auckland prices. But we still enjoyed our meal, and beautiful view to look at while we dined.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Food and service at this restaurant are superb, staff are attentive and knowledgeable about menu options. It's a popular restaurant and we could see why. There is an extensive menu and for dinner you have the choice of a fine dinning menu or the all day menu which is good as lots of restaurants drop the day menu for dinner in the evening. The green lip mussels here are just wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!! Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very good, yummy big meals, pizza was AMAZING and big breakfast YUM! Had to come back after first time and was just as good!
Service was better first time, second he wasn't to interested in refilling drinks but the first was and we brought one more

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrincessCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing