We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Pub and friendly locals”
Review of The Rose Irish Pub

The Rose Irish Pub
Ranked #19 of 211 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Napier institution right in the heart of Napier has loads of character and is a great place to meet your friends, start your night out or linger over a meal matched with our best range of beers and our fine selection of wines including many local wines. Our menu is a fusion of Kiwi-Irish, well priced and we are well positioned in Hastings Street amongst the major central city shops and hotels, including our own Art Deco Masonic Hotel. The Rose appeals to a broad range of people, young and young at heart, locals and tourists, families, kiwis and international visitors.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Ate dinner here while taking a break from tramping. Staff was friendly and so were the locals. Great Scotch selection, which the bartender had good knowledge of. I had Kilkenny anyway. If it is slow make sure you go to the bar - really no wait staff, but no surprise in a pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Hello Todd W
Thank you for the review. glad to hear you noticed our fantastic "Scotch selection", it has proven to be a favourite among our locals and visitors.
See you on your next visit.
Kind Regards Nessa & the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 317 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

The best pint of Guinness in Napier. Lovely bar staff and a great atmosphere for a local pub. Haven't sampled the food yet but it always looks good when other people are dining. :-)

Thank Zara58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Hello AngieBanny
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rose Irish Pub. Our goal is to have the best Guinness in town and it is great to see it has been noticed. We hope next time your in you will try the food, fantastic honest food with daily specials.
Kind Regards Nessa & the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

In Napier for work, I found myself at The Rose more than once because of its beer selection, particularly appealing playlist and staff that didn't care how much I suck regardless of my performance at quiz nights. I would like The Rose to be my local if it wasn't 290km from my house. It's fabulous. Go there,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Hello Kent P
Thanks for the review, and no need to worry as we don't judge our visitors on quiz performances. We would love to be your local, it would be an honor. But until you have moved your house closer to the pub we will have to settle with being your holiday destination.
Kind Regards Nessa & the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

From Hamilton. Beats any pub there. I didnt get chlamydia, pretty happy with that. Great music set list. Only heard black keys, kings on leon, white stripes, queens of stone age and etc... not complaining. Would drive 4hrs again for a Boddingtons on tap. Thanks guys

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hamvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Hello Hamvid
Thanks for the review, and the original title made us laugh. Let us know when you are planning to take that 4 hour drive again and we shall get a pint of Boddingtons ready for you.
Kind Regards Neesa & the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a real pub. Not a pretend, national chain. You order at the bar. You take your own drinks to your table. Twenty minutes or so later, your food arrives at your table. Keep an eye out for the fish and chip deals. There is live music here and there. Enjoy the whole package. It is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Hello Beach30Canada
Thank you for the great review, and yes we do believe we are a "real pub". The Fish n Chips "deals" are $12 from 12 - 2pm every day and all day on Fridays. Live music every Tuesday, Thursday and Sundays, see you again soon.
Kind Regards Nessa & the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Irish Pub also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Rose Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing