We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco weekend”
Review of The Rose Irish Pub

The Rose Irish Pub
Ranked #19 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Napier institution right in the heart of Napier has loads of character and is a great place to meet your friends, start your night out or linger over a meal matched with our best range of beers and our fine selection of wines including many local wines. Our menu is a fusion of Kiwi-Irish, well priced and we are well positioned in Hastings Street amongst the major central city shops and hotels, including our own Art Deco Masonic Hotel. The Rose appeals to a broad range of people, young and young at heart, locals and tourists, families, kiwis and international visitors.
1 review
“Art Deco weekend”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere, friendly/happy staff, great food.
Great selection of beers on tap,
Overall a nice place to meet some friends.
Will be my first port of call next time I'm in Napier

Helpful?
Thank lindseyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello Lindseyrp
Thank you for taking the time to review "The Rose Irish Pub" we take great pride in our little pub.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    136
    36
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
“Robberchicken”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic time at the rose with excellent staff great food and drinks made us feel like part of the family nothing was to much of a hassle with a excellent band playing into the night great stuff

Helpful?
Thank robberchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and welcome to the family. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the band, we have live music every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Batter!,,”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent choice for a pint and some seriously good pub grub.
Staff extremely welcoming and service fast and friendly.Recommended fish and chips and we were NOT disappointed. Probably one of the best batters on a piece of fish ever ----- and we have had a lot of fine fish and chips , Britain, Ireland, Canada , etc.
And finally sensible food portions in New Zealand ----- just the right amount, not a plate for a whole town of people!!!!!!, and at a great price as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello Terry S
Thank you for taking the time to review "The Rose Irish Pub." It is great to hear that you enjoyed our fish n chips and that you rate them so highly, they are great value at only $12 every day between 12pm and 2pm and all day on Friday.
Kind Regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An authentic pub--great atmosphere, great architecture, and great beer!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The place was lively and welcoming, and we found seats at the bar, where we quickly and easily struck up a conversation with the couple next to us who wanted to watch the Australian Open on tv. The staff was accommodating and friendly, facing down cricket fans who had other preferences in mind. We loved it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good place to have a beer and a snack”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Was on the way from a tour to the cruise ship . Looking for a place to have a snack and a drink in beautiful Napier, good beer, not wine. Got a bite bur they recommend to go to a bar to have and a wine glass.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Irish Pub also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Rose Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing