We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”
Review of Econo Lodge Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Napier
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great position close to the beach and Napier central. Large rooms with a heat pump and heat lights in the bathroom.
Hotel very close that served restaurant style food at affordable prices.
Family owned with the staff very friendly and efficient staff. Recommend it to anyone visiting the Hawkes Bay area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisOrewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawky1, Owner at Econo Lodge Napier, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thanks, glad you enjoyed our Westshore Beach area, family bisiness for families, Cheers & Beers Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, met nice people in the friendly and efficient sports bar. The Hotel is perfetly situated close to the airport, the nearby Westshore Beach, The nature walk in the Estuary and a short hop to town. The rooms were clean, the meals were good and i will most definitely stay at the Westhore again.

Room Tip: Room 31 overlooks the Estuary with stunning sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawky1, Owner at Econo Lodge Napier, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thanks for your great feedback, we now can add the NEW cycleway to a list of healthy activities right on our doorstep. Hope to see you back soon. Cheers & Beers Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Very tidy (new rooms) with air con and large TV. Short walk to a lovely beach and short drive to entertainment district and CBD.
Classic pub with modern bistro serving well portioned and tasty meals.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_ChrisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawky1, Owner at Econo Lodge Napier, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thanks, YES Fresh Food, value for money is one of the bonus's of staying here. Thanks Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Westshore Beach Inn is a basic and down to earth hotel. We stayed here for three nights whilst in Napier, NZ. At first we were given shared accommodation as Expedia had messed up the booking for a second time, however the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, and we upgraded to what we thought we had booked, a Chalet, as was advertised on the website. The chalet was a basic no-frills room, it had a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV as well as a small kitchenette and dining table. The kitchenette had a microwave, sink and crockery. The sofa in the room was nice to relax on and watch a little TV after a long day.
The main building which is where the reception is, and there is a nice pub attached, which does good food. There is also a bookies attached for those of you who enjoy a flutter.
The hotel is quite a long way to the City, but we had a car so it was only a 10 minute drive.
Overall this hotel was pleasant and the staff were brilliant, however i would stay closer to the center of town in future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardspio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawky1, Owner at Econo Lodge Napier, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Sorry, that Expedia mucked you up. We did our best. Town is a 3.5k drive. Thanks Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my husband, 5 month old daughter and parents.

The best thing to say about this accomodation is that it is clean and well taken care of with helpful staff. You could not fault it on any of these areas, however if I had researched properly and seen exactly where it was and what it looked like I would not have chosen to stay here on a holiday with my family.

We stayed in a two bedroom "chalet" which was a rather misleading name... essentially an old weatherboard unit near a lot of others out the back of a pub with no real charm or character.

It was located right next to a railway crossing, however we did not find this to be overly noisy. The "chalets" and "studios" were set back from the road and were very quiet. As they are stand alone you also do not have any neighbour noise coming through the walls.

It was a fair way out of town which was ok for us as we had a car.

All in all, I would not recommend staying here for a family holiday, however if you are into the pub scene or are just after a clean, comfortable, no-frills place to base outings to the vineyards, etc then you may like to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawky1, Owner at Econo Lodge Napier, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thanks for the review. We have lots of familys staying here but they make use of the Beach just 50 metres and playgrounds there. We now are the centre of the Cycleways and walkways just been created on our doorstep. Thanks Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: excellent resto asiatique à l'hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
2.0 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#8 of 46 in Napier
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Napier

Address: 85 Meeanee Quay | Westshore Beach, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Napier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franchisee of the Year for Australasian Econo Lodge by Choice Hotels: Qualmarked 3.5 Star Hotel, Econo Lodge Napier is a family owned and operated property just 50 metres from Westshore Beach, a short 5-minute drive to the downtown Art Deco district, Napier and 1 km from the West Quay restaurant area - we are smack bang in the middle of the Cycleways of Hawkes Bay. Our accommodation is very private & quiet made up of a combination of stand-alone studio suites and 2 bedroom suites. Parking beside your suite, all have air conditioning and king size beds. FREE local calls, FREE parking, FREE WiFi allowance, FREE late check-out by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing