We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to see Hawke's Bay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
1 review
“Perfect way to see Hawke's Bay”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We meant to stay 2 nights, but extended our visit because of Robert and Wendy's excellent hospitality. Their knowlede of the wineries and local neighbourhood - especially the best restaurants - gave us a good all round impression of Hawke's Bay on a very short trip. They also made you feel thoroughly at home, as if you were friends, not tourists. A first class advertisement for Napier - we thought it a great place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Wendy & I appreciate your kind words and thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We strive to make each visit memorable. The extra day to enjoy what this region has to offer was a great move! Napier is blessed with many top restaurants and world class wines abound in the Hawkes Bay region. It is our 'mission' to introduce the 'freshest' and best local producers/ dining places to our guests. We personally check out each and every provider before making recommendations. We are located an easy 5 minute walk to NZ's oldest winery and fine dining, with a 7 minute drive to many more in Napier's old port district, 'Ahurihi'. We were pleased our service was everything you wished it to be, and wish you a safe journey home. Hope to see you for an even longer stay next time!
cheers,
Robert Simon, owner/manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We have mixed feelings about our stay at the Mission B & B. It was generally satisfactory but certainly not as outstanding as reflected in other reviews. I suspect that is because our room/bathroom were pretty ordinary, and we were very happy that we'd booked at a fairly cheap rate ($139 NZ) through Wotif.co.nz. If we were paying twice that, we'd not have been happy. On the positive side, Robert and Wendy were friendly, knowledgeable, and ready to answer questions about Napier, advise about and make reservations at local wineries, restaurants, golf courses, etc. Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit and tasty, home-made muesli. On the other hand, our room (the Trinity room) felt very cramped. A large, comfortable bed took up nearly the entire room. The bathroom was a refitted closet with the smallest sink I've ever seen. It was hard to shave, brush your teeth, or wash your wands without water dripping or splashing on the floor. The light over the bed was terribly bright and it would have been impossible to read without disturbing my partner. Our "view" was of the driveway, and we were surprised by the amount of traffic noise on what we thought was a quiet residential street. The location was just OK. It was convenient to the Mission Winery, where we had a wonderful dinner our first night in Napier. It was quite a distance into Napier. On the plus side, there is a large comfortable guest lounge and a large patio/deck/gardens outside, although during our stay the weather unfortunately wasn't nice enough to enjoy the outside amenities. The guest lounge was very pleasant when we were the only guests, but not so much when we were sharing with others with very different TV tastes. I understand that there is a very nice large bedroom/bathroom, with a private entrance, as well as private patio access. That may provide a significantly better experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
hi A + R:
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B. Wendy and I apologize if we didn't meet your standards, and hope you have fully recovered from your injury. We remember you were in some difficulty with the arm in the sling, 'A', and were having trouble washing your hair. We did invite you to use an unused, and much larger bathroom outside YOUR room if it would have made life easier. Re the 'lights': they are adjustable, and we would have done that had known at the time there was an 'issue'. Our guest lounge is large and has a Blue Ray Hi Def Home Cinema for the enjoyment of all 'in house' guests. When 2 parties staying with us differ on a choice of 'content' to be viewed, we can again only apologize and trust they will work it out. This is the 1st time we've received comment . Our owner's apartment fronts on the same side of the house as your room, and 'traffic' sounds have never bothered us. Avenue Road is a fairly quiet city street 7 minutes drive to the CBD, and an easy 3 minute walk to the gates of NZ's oldest winery: The Mission. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal there. We get so many positive comments about our location. Again, it was a pleasure hosting you, and we'd welcome the opportunity of a return visit with the offer of a complimentary upgrade to our 'Mission Room'. Thanking you,
Robert Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Robert and Wendy were terrific hosts....modern, nice room and bath in quiet neighborhood near Mission Winery. Loved the outside space too. Guest lounge very inviting. Hawkes Bay shouldn't be missed. Very pleased with helpfulness of host. Great stay and great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromchicago2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
We appreciate your positive comments and thanks for the kind words. WEestrive to make each and every stay special. Hawkes Bay is a wonderful holiday destination seen by all too few NZ visitors and wish more would make the trip to the East Coast to enjoy our special brand of hospitality. A world class wine region with great food. Thanks for taking the time to review your Napier visit. Please come back to us SOON! cheers, RS & W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Robert and Wendy met us when we arrived with afternoon tea, booked us into a restaurant as soon as I emailed (ahead of time) with a query, talked with us over two bottles of wine and a platter of cheese/breads/olive oil before we went to dinner, and served us fantastic breakfasts--beautiful omelettes (a three stage process Robert was happy to describe so that I could make them myself at home), homemade muesli and jams and yogurts, and a beautiful fruit platter. The hosts welcomed our children, lending each of them a little stuffed Micky Mouse and Minnie Mouse. Great conversations about wine and many other things--Robert knows a great deal about wine--and all in all, a relaxed, comfortable stay, and all short walk to the Mission Winery, where we had a great dinner. A lovely property, too. A terrific stay. I woudl definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTraveler360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevy chase, md
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Mission B&B owner Robert Simon, with his wife Wendy, share their wonderful hospitality and his passion for wine all wrapped up in a lovely B&B. Our stay in mid-November could not have been better. The accommodations were lovely & comfortable, the house & gardens were welcoming, the made to order breakfast was yummy, and the conversations over wine and cheese were just like talking to an old friend. Robert is quite the maven when it come to wine and is an expert in NZ wineries, offering his own tours and tastings in the region. While we did not partake in his trip, he did direct us to numerous great wineries for a day of beautiful scenery and tastings. He also recommended a great restaurant, Fox on the Quay. While the B&B is located near some beautiful wineries, it is only a 12 minute drive to the heart of Napier.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChevyChase_MdSzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We just finished a very enjoyable three nights staying with Robert and Wendy at Robert's Cottage in Napier. Robert clearly loves wine, good food and helping his guests experience the best of both in Napier. We had a very comfortable room which had large sliding doors opening onto a lovely garden. There is also a large well appointed guest lounge and a fridge for guests which we found useful for keeping our wine purchases cold. Robert helped us with restaurant choices as well as organizing a wine tour and booking golf at a lovely course he used to belong to. He even helped us wash our car when all we asked for was a bucket and a rag. When we left he presented us with a garden sign which we had admired. He and Wendy had tried to find us a duplicate but since they had not found one before we had to leave he gave us theirs. Robert and Wendy do everything they can to make your time at their B and B special and it was!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Thank you S & B for staying with us. Always a pleasure to entertain fellow golfers and especially horticulturalist ones! Wendy and I very much enjoyed your company. A wam welcome awaits your return to sunny Hawkes Bay wine country. cheers! Robert Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

By far the best features of this B&B are the hosts. They were lovely and made me feel as welcome as if they've known me for years. They gave some fantastic recommendations on what to do in my short stay in town. This is the one B&B where I feel like I can make myself at home and use the facilities available to me without intruding. Robert is a terrific cook. The breakfast is absolutely delicious. I got an ensuite double with wall-to-wall window. The bathroom is small and narrow but the room was well lit, airy, and comfortable. Give yourself time to enjoy their gazebo and garden out back. Location is a little bit out of town in a residential neighbourhood but there isn't much in town. Most of the attractions require a car to get around. If I have the opportunity to visit again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Unearthed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
hi Jade: Thanks for the wonderful review! We enjoyed your visit as much as you did staying with us. We upgraded you to an ensuite room, but the PRIVATE bath in the unit you booked is actually MUCH BIGGER, it's HUGE!....oh well, had I known... we take pride in our spacious guest facilities and were pleased that you took advantage of all we had on offer. You were a gracious and very interesting guest, and always welcome. Hope to see you again soon, sincerely, RS and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
904 reviews
4.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#7 of 41 in Napier
53 reviews
8.2 mi away
Esk Valley Lodge
Esk Valley Lodge
#9 of 41 in Napier
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Property: Mission B & B on the Avenue
Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing