We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merci Robert!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Great hospitality and incredible night of wine and food courtesy of our host. The house is well placed in a quiet area handy to all the regions attractions. Tastefully decorated house with a nice garden and big deck. Nice private bed and bathrooms. Awesome welcome and great breakfast! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markandmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 178 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

Robert is a sublime host who made us feel so welcome. His local knowledge of the attractions and businesses in Hawke's Bay is excellent, as is his passions of wine and golf. We did not have time to take up his offer of a local winery tour, but other guests raved about the time they had out with Robert. Breakfast is top class and served with generous doses of humour. With his charming partner Wendy we were able to arrange our business day easily. Very clean and comfortable...we will return!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed two nights with Robert and thoroughly enjoyed the time there. After a few hours drive to get there we certainly appreciated the chance to share some fine wine and cheese on arrival...a great way to make us feel welcome and map put the days ahead. Robert knows the local wine scene well, and his advice and insights made the next days wine tasting a real success.
Food was great...almost as good as the superb wine. His omlettes a real treat.
Rooms are clean and comfy, but nothing too special and we had to share a bathroom which didnt trouble us but might others used to having a bathroom to themselves.
Location is a fair way back from the town of Napier, so read up on the directions, but its close to ( but not located with) the Mission winery which is well worth the look. If a wine trip is what you are after, then Robert would be a great host. Would certainly recommend.
Peter

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We only spent one night at Robert's cottage, but enjoyed it immensely. It's a cleverly renovated 60s house in a quiet street very close to the beautiful Mission Estate winery. We wandered up there just after we had arrived and enjoyed a glass in the very pretty bar; it's an amazing building (and the wine's pretty nice too!). Back at the cottage Robert served us snacks and a beautiful bottle of wine before organising - and collecting - take-away Indian for us as we were pretty weary after our day's travelling.
Breakfast the next day was great, and we were sent on our way with snacks for the drive to Wellington. Robert's love and knowledge of wine is amazing and I wish we had been able to take one of his tours - next time!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StPierreLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Robert's Cottage in the heart of Hawke's Bay surrounded by beaces, water and vineyards! A wonderful place to stay as you search the marvelous sights and wineries. Robert is the "ultimate host" and makes you feel at home in his spacious home. The grounds are beatifully mannicured and his breakkfast is healthly and hearty. We had a supberb time and his glorious home is only surpassed by the outstanding wine tour. Robert drove us in his comfortable van to 4 different winiers and explained the grapes, the scenry and the history. We enjoyed at least 5 different tastes of wonderful New Zealand wines at each winery and then was treated to a delicious picnic lovingly prepared by "Chef Robert"!. We spent 4 lovely days with Robert and can hardly wait for a return visit. A trip to the north island is not complete without a visit to Robert's Cottage and Wine Tour.

Linda Craig
California

1  Thank lcraig7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Five minutes walk to New Zealand's oldest winery (Mission Estate) where we had an excellent lunch and from the Church Road winery. Easy 10 minutes drive to downtown. Very comfortable and spacious ensuite bedroom with direct access to a large patio, gazebo and lovely garden. Our host runs small group winery tours. Also provides a fine breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

heading for Napier over its' Annual Art Deco Weekend we stopped in at the Information Centre in LakeTaupo to book accommodation ahead and they pointed us in the direction of Robert's Cottage a B&B just outside Napier as all Hotels/motels there were full. Thank goodness they were as we wouldn't have had the 'Robert' experience! He is great host and cook and the house is so peacefull, facilities inside and out were ideal to relax in. Of course Robert being a wine expert involved us in some tastings-comversation and wine certainly flow in his company. We stayed for 2 nights and, before heading to Wellington for the ferry ,Robert insisted on preparing a picnic lunch for our journey.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank organdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
973 reviews
4.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
813 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast
4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $72 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing