We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Mission B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have recently returned from an all too short stay at the mission b and b. Simon and Wendy are the perfect hosts. Spending time with such genuine and kind people is truly good for the soul! The property is spotlessly clean and ideally placed for an easy stroll to the fabulous Mission Estate for dinner, followed by an easy roll back down the hill to bed! The breakfast was amazing...surprised we could move afterwards (we sure didn't want to!) We would definately recommend the Mission B and b, and are planning to return to Napier later this year, if only to return there!

Room Tip: Oops! No fitness centre, but excellent walking/cycle track, with bikes available to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments AND taking time to post on Trip Advisor.
So enjoyed hosting your Napier visit. Completely agree with your Mission Estate sentiments. Blessed to live an easy walk to New Zealand's best winery restaurant and the historical site (oldest winemakers in the country).
Pleased you like our breakfasts. Most menu items are scratch made and we like to show off the region's fresh fruit with a big salad and squeezed juice to start.
The walking / cycle tracks have been terrific for us too.
It's now possible to do a 42km circuit round Napier City with the 'Water Ride' to Westshore a highlight. Our new his n hers bikes are complimentary for guests and have been popular. Fresh air & exercise HAVE to be better than a 'fitness centre' !
Our sincere thanks and wishes for a speedy return.
cheers,

RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
Freecall 0508 42 86 87
+64 6 844 3988
stay@missionbnb.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

My boss and I were on a business trip to Hawke`s Bay, Mission B&B is where we are staying for the whole week. Simon and Wendy are extremely nice and kind, every morning we have wonderful breakfast. I`m really happy to stay in a place that feels home but with high quality service. I definitely recommended my friends to stay with them if they ever go to Napier.

Room Tip: I stay in the Trinity, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hi Carol:

Wendy and I were touched by your lovely comments on your recent stay with us.
Your visit seems like only yesterday!
I was our pleasure hosting you.

Pleased our range of services suited, as your business schedule was SO busy.
We really enjoyed the 'cultural exchange', Carol, this being your 1st trip to New Zealand, and hope we see you again very soon.

Thank you for the recommendations given to your friends and sharing here on Trip Advisor with the travel community. It really helps us as a small family business.

Thank you also for the 'traveller's pictures' posted. Wonderful!

with much appreciation,

Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
rs@missionbnb.co.nz
+64 6 844 3988
Freephone 0508 42 86 87

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mission B and B. The room and shower were very clean and spacious, and it was pleasant having a TV lounge to relax in. Simon and Wendy were excellent hosts and very informative regarding the area and wineries. We loved our breakfasts, and the welcome drinks ,cheese and fruit. Simon gave us lots of information about the various wineries , and we used the bikes to visit some of them. We were able to walk to the Mission winery for an evening meal which was very memorable. There are lots of extra touches at the B and B and the laundry service was appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

hi Anne:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue with Trip Advisor readers. It's the single best way to assist a small family operation like ours.

We are blessed having new Zealand's top winery restaurant at the end of our street, an easy walk to fine dining, lunch & dinner 7 days. Many of our guests have enjoyed visiting this cultural icon; oldest winemakers in the country, beautiful buildings and just a few minutes walk away.

re our guest share features:
Pleased you were able to use our new his n hers bikes on the nearby pathways, a safe and fun way to explore and get a little exercise too.
Large HD cinema lounge with piano and decking /gardens to relax in.
WiFI fast & free on the property
Wash n fold laundry service.
It's important to us, when we travel, so we try to provide 'essential services' to OUR guests here at Mission B&B on the Avenue

Hope your travels bring you back to us in the near future.
It was our pleasure to have hosted you, Anne.

With much appreciation for your kind words,

Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
rs@missionbnb.co.nz
+64 6 844 3988
27 328 3788
FREEcall 0508 42 86 87

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Both Simon and Wendy were great! They served a welcome appetizer platter and wine when we arrived and you could tell right away that they were going to be great hosts. The breakfast was delicious and filling and they had very good restaurant suggestions for dinner. They lent us bikes and we cycled along some trails to visit a few wineries that they suggested. There is lots to do in the area, (and they are very knowledgeable of things to do) such as going on a Art Deco walking tour in Napier and the tractor tour to the Gannet colony, just to name a few.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcemyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at Mission B&B on the Avenue.
The pleasure was ours hosting such a great couple from CANADA!
'Fivesies', al fresco on the deck was particularly good, given the sparkling conversation and great weather that week.
Pleased you made use of our new bikes and enjoyed the 'Napier Trails'. It's a wonderful way to keep fit whilst on holiday, & enjoy the sites AWAY from cars!
The dining scene is good, as you noted, with NZ's best winery restaurant, Mission Estate at the end of our street, an easy walk, and many more within 7-10 minutes drive.
We were so happy you extended your stay with us.
Plenty of great attractions: the GANNETS in season....Art Deco walk in Napier City CBD & lots more......
Wishing happy travels and hope a return to Napier is in the cards.
Thanks again for all the lovely compliments.

warm regards,

Robert Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
FREEcall 0508 42 86 87
stay@missionbnb.co.nz
+64 6 844 3988
+64 27 328 3788

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Simon put on quite a spread for breakfast, every day was different and delicious. We enjoyed "fivesies" the first evening with wine and a large and tasty spread of munchies on the deck. The room was comfortable and modern. Just a short drive to the center of Napier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful compliments re our breakfasts & 'fivesies', a meet the hosts / guests in an informal setting (al fresco when possible - on the deck! ).
May we say what a pleasure it was hosting you during your Napier visit.
Such a special part of the world, next to our amazing wine country of Hawkes Bay.
Most hours of bright sunlight on NZ's North Island.
We love to showcase the world class regional wines, and what better time than on arrival?
Pleased you enjoyed our brand of Napier hospitality.
Hope your travels bring you back for a longer visit next time.

with much appreciation for taking time to share with Trip Advisor readers,

Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
+64 6 844 3988
Free call +64 6 844 3988
027 328 3788 mobile
info@missionbnb.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were only able to stay for 2 nights at the Mission B&B in early March. It turned out those two days were the highlight of our week in New Zealand. First, as we planned the trip last fall Simon arranged a wine tour for us. He was able to give us good directions when we got lost around the Port of Napier (who needs a GPS anyway). Once we got there it just got better and better. Even though we arrived a bit after 7pm, Simon and Wendy extended the "fivesies" wine and cheese for us, and did we ever need it after a long day of driving. Then they made a wonderful dinner recommendation to cap off the evening. When we inquired the next morning about doing laundry, they insisted that since we were the ones on vacation they would do the laundry. So off we went on the wine tour while Wendy toiled over our clothes. Finally the next morning we asked to use some glass cleaner since the car rental kids had not bothered with the inside of the windshield in the last 60,000km. Again, Simon wouldn't let us do it ourselves, but climbed in the car and cleaned the inside of the windshield not once but twice.

I don't know if we will get back to Napier (we loved it but there are so many other places to see), but if we do, absolutely we know where we will stay. Thanks so much to Simon and Wendy for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for all the compliments on our B&B service and taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor.
We enjoyed having you stay with us. Pleased the Napier lifestyle agreed with you.
Blessed to have a world class restaurant at the end of our street, many of our guests walk to Mission Estate Winery for fine dining. After driving all day, it is indeed a treat.
Twas our pleasure to share a 'late' fivesies upon arrival. No worries.
We have travelled extensively and two of the things important to us are; WiFi (free and fast) & laundry, so it was no problem to assist in that regard.
Again, our appreciation for coming to us and sharing your experiences with the travel community.
Hope your future plans include a return visit to Napier.
Always welcome here at Mission B&B on the Avenue!
warm regards,

Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
+64 6 844 3988
Free Call 0508 42 86 87
027 328 3788 mobile
rs@missionbnb.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent 3 days at Mission B & B in early February this year. Our welcome,accommodation and breakfast feasts were the highlight of our 6/52 holiday in New Zealand. Simon's knowledge of wine and his directions to various vineyards was great and we were never disappointed.Simon and Wendy also knew the best restaurants in the district and our 3 days passed all too quickly.they were so kind to us-it was as if we were staying in an old friends home.Mission B&B is on our radar
for a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are so pleased to hear from you after the very long trip home.
Wonderful to have hosted fellow foodies / vinophiles, and yes, the 3 days just flew by.
We felt like we were saying au revoir to old friends, and hope your return to NZ is very soon.

Thank you for the lovely compliments on our home and for taking time to post on Trip Advisor.
It is much appreciated.

warm regards,

Robert Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
FREEcall 0508 42 86 87
stay@missionbnb.co.nz
+64 6 844 3988
+64 27 328 3788

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
945 reviews
4.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#11 of 41 in Napier
54 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#7 of 41 in Napier
53 reviews
4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $69 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing