We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission B & B on the Avenue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 43 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful B & B and it was an unforgettable experience. The hosts, Rob & Wendy, made us feel so comfortable as if we were a part of their family. I was very fortunate to have my own bedroom with a bath tub and shower, which after travelling many weeks - staying in many hotels, I so enjoyed the bath tub. Every morning we were spoiled with Wendy's famous homemade muesli topped up with Rob's absolutely delicious homemade strawberry juice. Overall this was a wonderful experience and would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Our thanks for the kind words and taking time to post your experiences.
We truly enjoyed hosting your recent stay with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier.
Our pleasure doing breakfast the way WE like it: plenty of FRESH fruit! and the Museli is toasted FRESH every week or so..... Pleased you liked it too.
BATH...especially after being on the road awhile is indeed a special treat these days...and we're happy you enjoyed staying in our MISSION COMBO unit.....Superking bedroom with private 2 room bath...AND the bonus FULL size bath tub.
Again, our appreciation for your review and we hope to see you back with us soon.

warm regards,

RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
FREE phone 0508 42 86 87
+64 6 844 3988
www.missionbnb.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam BC Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived at this great B & B on October 18th and were only able to stay for two nights. Robert and Wendy welcomed us with open arms into their beautiful home. Having come from Canada we were treated like family as Robert came from the Vancouver Canada area as we did. My room was very comfortable and all the little touches were there. We arrived in time to have wine and cheese with Robert and Wendy and shared a lovely meal. Robert makes the best Fruit juice for breakfast along with a beautiful and tasty fruit tray. There was toast, home made muesli (excellent),as well as homemade peanut butter, fruit spreads, all very delicious, made by Wendy. As Robert and Wendy are experienced travellers themselves they certainly go the extra mile to make one's stay comfortable and relaxing. Their knowledge of the area is exceptional. I would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation to anyone. Best of Regards Judy B. Pt. Coq. BC Canada

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at The Mission. Wendy and Robert were wonderful hosts and we had a wonderful stay with them. Wendy's granola was to die for AND she was so sweet and did some laundry for us. We will definitely return if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Firstly, our thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us. Trip Advisor feedback is our single most effect way of getting the message 'out there'.

We enjoy meeting visitors from around the world here in our slice of paradise. Pleasure was ours hosting you.

Services we offer include 'wash n fold' laundry for busy travellers, FREE WiFi to stay in touch, and many 'comforts of home' whilst on the road. The guest lounge & home cinema is popular, as is the huge outdoor area. Room to spread out and enjoy a cuppa or one of our very special regional wines on the deck.

Granola, as it's called in North America, or MUSELI is one of our house specialties here. Produced FRESH every week, it's 'toasty' & yummy with the bountiful fresh fruits this area is famous for. Thanks for the lovely compliments.

Active guests love our FREE 'his n hers' bicycles and the walking / cycling tracks are a safe and beautiful way to stay in shape whilst 'on the road'.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we extend our welcome for a speedy return.
warm regards,

Robert Simon & Wendy
Mission BnB on the Avenue, 140 Avenue Road, Napier (Mission end)
Freephone 0508 42 86 87
stay@missionbnb.co.nz
+64 6 844 3988
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in this B+B for 10 nights in August. Simon and Wendy were wonderful hosts. It was a stressful time as I had to be with my mother in Hawkes Bay Hospital (Hastings) every day but the time was made easier by having this lovely place to come back to each evening. The bed was soooo comfortable that I slept like a baby. The room was clean and calming.
Simon and Wendy know all the best and different cafes, restaurants and gift shops to visit and also where to get the most delicious fresh fish and chips- a treat not to be missed!
Thank you Simon and Wendy for your care-its a wonderful place in a lovely location.
Cheers Judy













\\\\\\\

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was an outstanding experience and the highlight of our supposed fishing trip to the North Island!!!! Robert and Wendy are incredible hosts and the hospitality was more than generous.
Great location for visiting vineyards, exploring the wonderful countryside and Napier itself. It is very hard to add to the previous reviews, as it has pretty much already been said!! We came away feeling we had made two new, lovely friends. Obviously, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triptraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us last year. It was our pleasure hosting you. Posting your experience on this forum really helps us as a small family business, and we very much appreciate your taking time to do so.
May we extend the welcome mat for a repeat visit?

warm regards, and hope to see soon,

Robert Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mission B and B for 2 nights whilst on a 6 week trip to New Zealand. We were there in early April.
Although the B and B is out of town, it is only a short trip by car into Napier, and a short walk to Mission winery- the oldest in NZ. We took a trip there and had a lovely tasting, surprised at how reasonable the prices were. Robert and Wendy were excellent hosts and stood out from all the places we stayed at as being the most welcoming and friendly. They were great at getting the guests together in an informal way, with "fivesies" being a highlight of our stay as we enjoyed a wine tasting and food, enjoying Robert's fantastic knowledge and experience of wines. Breakfast was also a highlight and the omelette was fabulous. They were unobtrusive but also there when you needed them with great advice on things to do and places to eat. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flocktonfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Our appreciation for taking time to review your recent stay with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end).
Happy you enjoyed 'FIVEsies' ! We love to showcase our region's great wines and foods AND welcome the new guests in an informal setting (al fresco on the deck!.)
Located so close to NZ's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851) & the region's best winery restaurant is a bonus. It's an easy walk. 7 minutes driving to either old port Ahurihi or the Napier CBD offer many more dining choices.
Thank you for the kind words re our breakfasts. Freshest & best local produce makes the difference. RS's omelettes are specialite de la maison. Pleased you enjoyed them.

Again, our thanks for the review which truly helps our small boutique family business.
Unable to spend large on publicity due to our size, it's our 'vocal' satisfied clients who enable us to keep going.

A warm Napier thank you from RS&W!

Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
0508 42 86 87 free call
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms are perfectly reasonable, the location is convenient for several of the hawke's bay wineries but there are two real reasons to stay here: Robert and Wendy. They couldn't do enough for us, from fabulous breakfasts to booking restaurants and massages to taking us to pick up fish and chips for our dinner. A must do is "fivesies": a chance to meet your fellow guests, sample local wines and get advice for your stay in Napier.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank camp_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wendy & I appreciate the kind sentiments and thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
Our pleasure having such a gracious couple 'in home'. You certainly did a LOT in 3 days! Wines, fine dining, tours & cycling just a few of the activities on offer. The fivesies were particularly good as was the al fresco breakfast service, as the weather was warm & sunny.
We enjoyed your company and extend our invitation to return soon!
cheers,
RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112 NZ
free call 0508 42 8687
+64 844 3988
rs@missionbnb.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.8 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
3.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#2 of 43 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.2 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#14 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Property: Mission B & B on the Avenue
Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing