We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hosts and hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
wakefield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful hosts and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mission B and B for 2 nights whilst on a 6 week trip to New Zealand. We were there in early April.
Although the B and B is out of town, it is only a short trip by car into Napier, and a short walk to Mission winery- the oldest in NZ. We took a trip there and had a lovely tasting, surprised at how reasonable the prices were. Robert and Wendy were excellent hosts and stood out from all the places we stayed at as being the most welcoming and friendly. They were great at getting the guests together in an informal way, with "fivesies" being a highlight of our stay as we enjoyed a wine tasting and food, enjoying Robert's fantastic knowledge and experience of wines. Breakfast was also a highlight and the omelette was fabulous. They were unobtrusive but also there when you needed them with great advice on things to do and places to eat. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flocktonfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Our appreciation for taking time to review your recent stay with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end).
Happy you enjoyed 'FIVEsies' ! We love to showcase our region's great wines and foods AND welcome the new guests in an informal setting (al fresco on the deck!.)
Located so close to NZ's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851) & the region's best winery restaurant is a bonus. It's an easy walk. 7 minutes driving to either old port Ahurihi or the Napier CBD offer many more dining choices.
Thank you for the kind words re our breakfasts. Freshest & best local produce makes the difference. RS's omelettes are specialite de la maison. Pleased you enjoyed them.

Again, our thanks for the review which truly helps our small boutique family business.
Unable to spend large on publicity due to our size, it's our 'vocal' satisfied clients who enable us to keep going.

A warm Napier thank you from RS&W!

Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
0508 42 86 87 free call
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms are perfectly reasonable, the location is convenient for several of the hawke's bay wineries but there are two real reasons to stay here: Robert and Wendy. They couldn't do enough for us, from fabulous breakfasts to booking restaurants and massages to taking us to pick up fish and chips for our dinner. A must do is "fivesies": a chance to meet your fellow guests, sample local wines and get advice for your stay in Napier.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank camp_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wendy & I appreciate the kind sentiments and thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
Our pleasure having such a gracious couple 'in home'. You certainly did a LOT in 3 days! Wines, fine dining, tours & cycling just a few of the activities on offer. The fivesies were particularly good as was the al fresco breakfast service, as the weather was warm & sunny.
We enjoyed your company and extend our invitation to return soon!
cheers,
RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112 NZ
free call 0508 42 8687
+64 844 3988
rs@missionbnb.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Robert and Wendy were great hosts! They made us (and particularly our 5 year old daughter) feel totally welcome.

If your expectations of a B&B are the following you are in the right place:

- Beds = Very comfortable
- Breakfast = Different and great each day...not just toast and coffee...but a lovingly prepared full-breakfast
- Clean = The place is spotless
- Friendly = Great hosts with good tips....Robert is particularly helpful with wine tasting routes as he is also a local wine guide
- Grounds = They have a great outdoor space to enjoy
- Location = The location is situated between the wine growing area and town.

We look forward to seeing our hosts in San Francisco some day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & taking time to review your recent visit with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B. It was a pleasure hosting such a great family.

Appreciate the comments on our food, as we take it seriously round here. Sourcing locally & FRESH is what we do. All breakfasts feature FRESH fruit changing seasonally & squeezed berry & fruit juices made IN HOUSE. Local artisan breads & home made museli, nut butters & preserves are always served.

Pleased our services & facilities were what you were looking for. Coming from San Francisco, one of the world's top tourism destinations, the praise is particularly gratifying to receive. We spent our honeymoon in your city and hope to return very soon. AND we hope to see you back here in the near future.

warm regards,
RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (mission end)
Napier 4112
Free call 0508 42 86 87
email: rs@missionbnb.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

What gracious hosts are the husband and wife team of Robert Simon and Wendy! They received a friend/colleague and I into their lovely home as if we were family. We were overwhelmed by their kindness and enjoyed much pampering! Do not miss "fivesies", a time of laughter and great conversation with delicious cheeses, nibbles and "degustation" of the best wines of the region. The accommodation is well-appointed and immaculate. The garden setting just a few minutes' walk from the Mission winery, the oldest in new Zealand, is perfect. You will be off to a great start to your day with a scrumptuous and healthy breakfast. I will be raving about this B&B experience to my friends! Marilyn from Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar12009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

What can I add to the most recent reviews which rather say it all?! I told Robert Simon and Wendy that, in our extensive travels, their B & B was the best we'd ever stayed at. It was stepped up from the last place to receive that accolade (an amazing place in Napa Valley, California, that I booked because it did Gluten Free breakfasts!) because this amazing couple at Mission B & B really are absolutely genuine with their focus and very friendly into the bargain and as someone has said like staying with cosy relatives - the homemade peanut butter was great and so was the desire to satisfy my tricky diet as I'm gluten free, NOT by choice! They are extremely humble whilst delivering top notch food, wine, service... Breakfast was such an interesting time meeting other people, in our case a wonderful couple from Yorkshire who were out here for the cricket...they will visit us next time they're in NZ! We all enjoyed the one day match in Napier! We experienced all the things the other reviews talk about and yes the "fivesies" were great although we could stay in our rooms/be late... have privacy lest you think this is one huge compulsory party! I think though that most folks would enjoy joining in. At each meeting we gleaned yet more information about the locality, where to eat and as importantly, where NOT to eat! We will definitely return as it was so very nice and also we still have to do the recommended walk up the Sugar Loaf! It was easy to walk to and from the Mission Winery although Robert Simon will give you a lift up the hill if you so desire. What a find and what a pair of absolute treasures.. all the best to you both.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the annex room which we had as we booked late but we'd have it again it had such good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiKim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mission B&B on the Avenue last month. What a great pleasure it was meeting such a lovely couple. Really pleased you were able to enjoy this 'rest' time in beautiful Napier. And extend the visit by another day! The 1 day cricket was a F U N time for sure. 'BETTER than Napa' ! a wonderful accolade.

Thanks for the lovely comments re our food & wine. This is a world class wine region with superb & fresh fruit/veg. We source the best local ingredients to serve our guests. Our pleasure to accommodate food allergies/ choices.
'Five sies' are really popular as we welcome new arrivals. Weather cooperated beautifully, & al fresco wining & dining was a daily happening during your stay.
Breakfast on the deck.... 'Fivesies'.... "to be continued"

We extend a warm invitation for your speedy return.

cheers,

RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue,
Napier's premier wine themed B&B
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
FREECALL 0508 42 86 87
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed with Robert and Wendy, who are the most friendly and delightful couple who run this B+B about a 15 minute drive outside of downtown Napier. 'Fivesies' are served everyday (wine and cheese at 5pm!). I felt like I was staying at a cozy auntie and uncle's house. The guests are a bit older - ie. 40s and up, but being in our 30s we weren't made to feel like the 'unruly kids'...:) Bonus for being a 5 minute walk down the street from the Mission Estate Winery - NZs oldest winery!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolini22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us last month. Loved the take on the 5 sies!. We welcome new guests with drinks & nibbles on the deck, & all our guests seem to enjoy meeting the new arrivals. It's been great.
CBD Napier& Port Ahurihi Napier are only 6 minutes drive if one takes the quick way,(Prebensen Drive), & the Mission Estate Winery restaurant is but a 5minute walk. (One of the best and classiest dining experiences in NZ, at our oldest winery (1851).
Welcoming guests of all ages is our pleasure.
Happy your time with us hit the mark.
warm regards and wishes for a speedy return,
RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
FREECALL: 0508 42 86 87
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Mission B&B with my boyfriend last year. We spent 2 nights here, and were very wowed. As other people mentioned the happy hour and breakfast under the pergola in their backyard was spectacular - and we are foodies, so thats saying something!! Since we were not looking for nightlife, the early to bed early to rise tempo of the B&B was perfect for us, which is literally my only piece of advice for anyone looking to book here. Robert set us up with dinner reservations at the oldest winery in Napier on very short notice. Its so close we had a very romantic walk at dusk up "the avenue" and to the vineyard. For us the BEST part were the bikes they loaned us for free. The bikes were well maintained, complete with helmets, and Robert gave us great recommendations for a route back into wine country. Bravo Bravo Bravo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fidlfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments on our property. So enjoyed your recent visit, and pleased we were able to secure reservations on your behalf for the region's best winery restaurant: Mission Estate. They DO look after us!
Our his & hers bicycles have been really popular with our guests. New pathways across the Taipo stream from us offer safe walking & riding.
We love to share the local wine & food as we welcome new arrivals. This is a world class wine region & we are very proud of the artisan foods available. Bonhomie & great conversation on our decking during 'FIVEsies'.
Again, we appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay with us, and extend our welcome for a speedy return.
warm regards,
RS & W
Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
FREEcall: 0508 42 8687
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
4.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.3 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#2 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.2 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Property: Mission B & B on the Avenue
Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing