We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our sincerest thanks to Robert & Wendy for their hospitality during our recent stay. We sprung our stay on them at the last possible minute and they were nothing if not gracious preparing the room for our arrival with no notice. The property was immaculate and the room very comfortable with a big bed, suitable wardrobe space and a full family bathroom a small jump over the hall.

What was most admirable about this B&B was the little touches that Robert & Wendy add like homemade jams & yoghurt at breakfast time, a great DVD selection in the guest lounge and the simple fact that you felt like you could live in the house as if it were yours.

Their local knowledge is remarkable and their willingness to point us in the right direction for activities that would suit us; even going the extra mile of calling ahead to wineries to ensure their cellar door was open and ready for our visit.

We will return!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We thank YOU for reviewing your recent stay with us. We love to host visitors to Napier, and guess it shows! Guests have a large area they can 'stretch out' on the deck or in the BluRay cinema lounge. Free Wifi and a host of features make it a pleasant place to come back after a day exploring all Napier has to offer. We're proud of our city and like to share some of the little 'secrets': where we dine out, what we do, when's 'the best time' to go to the gannets etc. Your comments are much appreciated and welcome a speedy return.
warm regards,
RS&W,
Mission B&B on the Avenue
140 Avenue Road (Mission end)
Napier 4112
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Robert and Wendy warmly welcomed us into their lovely bungalow. It had all the facilities you need for a two-night stay and some nice touches around their home. Great attention to detail was given to our breakfast and very helpful advice about the local area from a knowledgeable pair. The sampling of wine and a well-prepared platter increased the pleasure of this B&B. To their credit Robert and Wendy also knew when to retreat and give their guests space and allow them to relax. On Robert’s recommendation we had an evening meal at the nearby Mission Estate Restaurant, a gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Wendy & I thank you for taking time to review your stay with us last November. Twas our pleasure hosting you. We do indeed take food seriously round here and the platters with matching wines on the deck ('FIVEsies') are becoming a bit of a habit! We love to showcase the region's excellent fruit, veg & vinos. Were so pleased you enjoyed your time here at Napier's premier wine themed B&B, Mission B&B on the Avenue. Welcome any time!
warm regards,
RS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in November and very much enjoyed our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Robert and Wendy who were excellent hosts. Everything that other reviewers say is true, you will be made to feel at home as soon as you arrive, and those breakfasts cooked by Robert - beautiful! We'll be back for more pampering!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and coming to us at Napier's premier wine themed B&B. We truly appreciate the effort made to review. The breakfasts are important to us and we source the region's best & freshest ingredients. We too look forward to your next visit! warm regards, RS & W,
Mission B&B on the Avenue, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end), Napier 4112.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I plus our friends from the Auckland spent 5 nights (original plan 6 nights- but car broke down in Rotorua) in this lovely B and B. Robert and Wendy coould not have been more pleasant, helpful and welcoming in every way possible. They welcomed us into their home as if it was our own!
Enjoyed on our first night wine, cheese platter and conversation with our hosts and other guests! Such fun!!
Breakfast- well what can we say that hasn't been said by others- fabulous, prepared perfectly and so much!!! Thank you Robert and Wendy!!!
Robert is so knowledgeable about area wineries and the four of us (being wine "afficionados" ) enjoyed all his suggestions and learned a lot about New Zealand wines from him and from all the wonderful people we met at the vineyards.
MIssion B and B is lovely - we are so glad we stayed here verses in town. Was very quiet and once learned, the video system in the common room was very good. The only "draw back" was we were in Napier when it was quite warm and the rooms do not have a lot of cross ventilation, became quite hot at times.
I certainly would recommend this to any couple(s) visiting Napier.
Wendy and Simon are hosts "extraordinaire" they go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome and comfortable even when some of our group was not feeling well they did all they could to make them feel comforatable. Thank YOU again Wendy and Robert Simon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. Hope the drive back north was cooler than it was here that day! Your 5+ days happened to be the hottest ever in the 4 1/2 years we've been doing B&B in Napier. Peaked out at 33c (96f) ! What a pleasure hosting fellow vinophiles & music buffs. Pleased you enjoyed our Napier hospitality & the region's great wines. We enjoyed the great company & nostalgic travels back in time. A pleasure hosting y'all and hope to see again soon from RS & Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been travelling for a time now in NZ and tried different B & B's and Mission is absolutely the very best so far. The host couple Wendy and Simon went out of their way to do our stay so pleasant as possible. We already miss their fantastic gourmet breakfast. In addition we also had accsess to bicyckles. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for the lovely compliments and taking time to review your recent visit to Mission B&B on the Avenue. Pleased our brand of NAPIER hospitality hit the mark! You were our first guests from Norway and we so enjoyed meeting you. Happy the his&hers bicycles worked out well. The new pathways just across the Taipo stream from us are proving to be very popular with cyclists. Much appreciation for your comments on our breakfasts, which we try to vary each day. Using the freshest seasonal fruits & products we aim to provide a healthy (& delicious) start to the day. Bonus during your stay was the weather! Dining al fresco on the deck IS a treat. Love it.
Thanks again for coming to us, and we hope to see you again very soon.
warm regards,
RS&W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wendy and Robert are fantastic hosts. Beautiful house with great privacy in the "mission precinct".
If you like luxury and pampering this place has a special value. We were blown away by what Napier offers and Wendy and Robert's hosting skills. Fresh seafood beach front at Napier Bay, the Napier estuary, hospitality in the old port, the magnificent Napier Hill and an Art Deco precinct that is a must visit with its beautiful seafront Parade. This stay was a real treat for us. Free cycles, super climate and fine company, We will return!

Room Tip: The mission suite has a lovely view of the adjacent stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The best place! Robert & Wendy, our gracious hosts, provided us with exceptional food, lodging, and conversation for a 3-night stay in Napier. Foodie's delight: homemade toasted muesli, homemade smoothies, and about ten kinds of local fruit made for a delicious cold breakfast option, and the hot breakfast included all that, plus eggs and bacon! If only I ate like that all the time! The rooms were spacious and comfortable, plus you get the run of the living room, which is mainly an awesome man-cave (big screen, huge amp, surround sound), but also has an upright piano which I loved since I play. Location is within walking distance of two wineries with good reputations (Church Road and Mission Estate). Robert and Wendy are very knowledgeable and well traveled, very interesting to talk with. On our last day, our hosts provided sights to see on our drive south (such as Te Mata Peak) which we otherwise would not have found! Thanks, Robert and Wendy!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us on your recent NZ trip. Pleased you enjoyed our facilities and Napier brand of hospitality. Pleasure was all ours hosting you. Happy sounds out of our guest lounge with the piano playing made us feel very good indeed! Food is important to us here, and we source the best & freshest local produce to give our guests a GREAT start to the day. The fruit juices have been really popular. We extend an open welcome for your speedy return. warm regards, RS & W, Mission B&B on the Avenue, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
4.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.3 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#2 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.2 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Property: Mission B & B on the Avenue
Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing