We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catch Up”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catch Up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Just wanted to write and let all those travellers out there visiting Napier, you have got to come and stay with Robert and Wendy the nicest hosts you could ask for on a holiday, and Wendy is very accomplished jewelley designer too, bough some Wine Glass Fancies (thats what I like to call them) and everyone compliments me on them. Was here from Ireland to visit with my son in March and had such a great time, thinking of it today and just wanted to let all you folks out there go visit them. Amazing hospitality and just lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresecoughlan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
We thank you so much for the lovely words of encouragement, and all the way from IRELAND!
The craic was mighty during your stay with us, and we're looking forward to the next visit.
Wendy is enjoying her jewelry design, lots of new pieces being created, and the summer is nearly upon us. Day after day of sunny & warm. One can almost hear the vines ripening. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
101
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked the B & B online so weren't sure what to expect.turned out to be so good we extended our stay by one night.We are the other couple from Scotland mentioned by Tom S from Hong Kong. Can only reiterate his comments and we had a great evening tasting the wines that Robert kindly provided. We aren't particularly wines buffs but Tom and his wife were and they had a great time picking Bob's brain regarding not only the local wines but wines in general. On arrival we were greeted with a nice food platter and a nice bottle of wine and that set the stage for some interesting conversations with Bob & Wendy over the 4 nights we spent with them. Bob was very knowledgeable about the Napier area and gave us good advice as to what to see and where to go. This included restaurants, wineries as well as scenic drives.
Our room was clean and the quality of bed sheets and towels was very good standard.Nice little touches like chocolates and bathroom extras to make you feel welcome. Excellent guest lounge area with large TV, DVD and free WiFi
The place was set in a very quiet area not far from the Mission Winery. At first seemed to be a bit out of Napier but soon realised that this was not the case with a car and getting to know the road layout. All in all we enjoyed our stay which we thought was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briarsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Wendy & I thank you for the kind sentiments expressed.
We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope your travels bring you back soon.
It's gratifying when we 'connect' with our visitors.
Hope a little of our passion for things 'wine' related rubbed off on you!
with appreciation for your taking the time to review us,
Robert Simon & Wendy
Mission B&B on the Avenue
Napier's premier wine themed B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Our family were treated to a wonderful stay by Robert and Wendy of Mission b&b. Started off with a lovely wine, cheese and conversation after we arrived. The common area is very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Beds were great. And best of all were the breakfasts served up by Robert! No need for lunch after that.
We also took a private wine tour hosted by Robert, which was very enjoyable. He really knows the local wineries well and catered to our needs.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank patguyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We enjoyed the 'in house' buzz with all the RWC2011 fans especially the CANADIANS! Families like yours make this whole 'hosting' thing so worthwhile for us, and here's hoping you'll return for a longer visit in the near future.( Doubly so for WINE buffs such as yourselves.) Mission B&B on the Avenue prides itself as being Napier's premier wine themed B+B, where a warm welcome awaits. cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

As soon as we arrived Mission B&B, we already received super warm welcome from Robert and he showed us around our bedroom, the living room, kitchen and the garden. The whole place is just magnificent and cozy!

We met with Robert's wife, Wendy, later on and she is also very friendly. Robert is so knowledgeable and we have great time exchanging all our pass experiences and the places we have traveled (there is another wonderful couples from Scotland who stayed 4 days with Robert & Wendy). We are just like close friends knowing each others for long long time (even this is our first time knowing Robert, Wendy and the couples from Scotland).

Robert also shared his collection of New Zealand wines (white & red) plus cheeses with us and they are excellent!! He is the key to Napier's vineyards if you plan to find good quality wines there. He can recommend some really good ones for your tasting and purchasing. Also, great restaurants recommendation if you are hunting for delicious meals for lunch and dinner.

Talk about breakfast, we have never tried such wonderful omelette (so good that I have forgotten to take photo). The lovely hearted shaped waffle also delicious. There is continue supply of bread and home made cereal (so tasty too) with either rice milk or milk. In summary, there are so much to eat for breakfast and definitely you will be leaving this B&B so full.

We are regretted that we should stay longer with Robert and Wendy when we can only made it for one evening at Napier.

Thanks again for the great time and the excellent wines!!!

Look forward seeing you both in Hong Kong and sharing our great wines with Robert and Wendy!!!

Room Tip: No other alternative except for Mission B&B on the Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Mission B & B is located in a great spot, walking distance to the great winery and close to the shopping. And yet, it's quiet and you can really enjoy the morning breakfast and coffee in the backyard. Simon knows all about the area and will take you, or point to the right direction. It's a home away from home and you will be treated like a life long friend. The place to stay. We spent four nights with them and were treated to a fabulous breakfast every morning. You'll gain weight if you are not carefull. He knows about food and wine, too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumiko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r s, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thanks Y & B for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We enjoyed having our FIRST guests from the LONE STAR state!
When the weather is right, we LOVE to entertain 'Al Fresco' on the deck.
Coffee is fine as is the WONDERFUL Hawkes Bay WINE*
Cheers!
& hope to see you again soon,
RS+W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Tony & I so enjoyed our stay (and breakfast)! Our room had it's own on -suite. Our bed was comfortable. The decor was tasteful.
Mission B & B was handy to all our planned activities in Napier.
We were made to feel very welcome by Simon & Wendy. Their knowledge of what Napier & surrounding districts had to offer a visitor was very helpful.
Yes! We would highly recommend staying at Mission B&B on the Avenue!! Maria Edwards

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I recently stayed here with my wife and our five-year-old son. From the moment we arrived, we were thrilled. Robert and Wendy were so warm and welcoming that we immediately felt like we had arrived at a friend's home. Our son was completely taken with them, wanting them to spend each day with him.

The lodging was excellent. The beds were comfortable, the shower and bath were great. There is a large living room with a fireplace, and an enormous home theater system with all the channels you could hope for.

Each morning Robert cooked us a breakfast that was large and luxurious. He cooks an omelet which should not be missed. Wendy makes a muesli mix which is exceptional. The coffee is great. The bacon is some of the finest I have eaten. Breakfast is, you may have guessed, very enjoyable. He and Wendy spent enormous amounts of time talking with us, making recommendations, explaining things, helping us to find the best things in the area.

Robert is an expert on wine, and knows the area vineyards very well. When it rained, he led us to the local aquatic center, which we enjoyed greatly.

Everything here was a joy and a pleasure. We shall be returning.

www.riderbymyside.com

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Wendy & I thank you for your recent stay and lovely review. What a pleasure for us hosting such an interesting and delightful family. The morning discussions round the breakfast table were wide ranging and terrific! Wishing you safe travels and looking forward to your return to Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B in sunny Hawkes Bay wine country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
4.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.3 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.2 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Property: Mission B & B on the Avenue
Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing