We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These guys KNOW hospitality! Top notch stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission B & B on the Avenue
Ranked #8 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Simon and Wendy are great welcoming hosts and we'll definitely be back if we're in the area again. The cooked breakfast and fresh fruit was fantastic, the wine and crackers (aka 'Fives-ies in the evening) were great and the restaurant they recommended was amazing and really added a special touch to our stay. Often hospitality is about the little things and these guys have nailed it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Wendy & I both thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Twas a great pleasure hosting fellow 'foodies' and vinophiles. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again in the near future. cheers! RS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

Simon and Wendy were full of local knowledge for places to eat out, places to see and "must do" vineyards. The omelettes for breakfast were amazing. We really enjoyed our two nights there. Both restaurants they recommended were fantastic. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we did hosting you . Great positive vibes and the craic was mighty in our home during your stay, A & T. We hope to see you again soon. safe journey home from RS & W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

a great place to stay especially if your interested in wine. Simon and Wendy go the 'extra mile' to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They have a lot of local knowledge which they are happy to give and if Simon doesn't know something he always knows someone who does. The little extra touches like the welcoming platter with wine and the offer of lifts make the difference from the usual and for a fun day out join one of Simon's wine tours which are interesting and informative.
Adrian Butler

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Many thanks for the lovely sentiments expressed, and appreciation for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. It makes all our endeavors worthwhile when we read a positive review like yours. We hope you will grace our shores again and visit sunny Hawkes Bay soon, so we can explore even more of the wonderful local wine and food scene. cheers, RS &W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Well. it was just a lucky draw, but we had a great stay at the Mission B&B in Napier. Nice warm hosts. Only 250 meters away from the gate to the eldest winery of New Zealand, as we learned. Nice walk, great food and wining.
The B&B itseslf, cool rooms, nice beds, great breakfast and real amazing garden. We felt at home, andy pity for us we already planned the next stop, we could have stayed for days more.
Also Napier (a mere six minutes drive) was a good and refreshing surpirse. Really awfull art deco. Street full of it. Ans nice lectures and walks too. Plus a beach, parks etc
So far the best surpise of the northern island.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank lucamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Thank you L&F for the HUGE vote of confidence and TERRIFIC review! It was a GREAT pleasure hosting you on during the all too short 2 days you had planned for the NAPIER part of your journey around our country. We too felt lucky when you stopped here with us! We also wished you could have stayed longer. Please RETURN to us so we can introduce even MORE top dining places and points of interest. Hawkes Bay is a world class wine & food region, little known by Europeans, and you barely scratched the surface. A warm welcome awaits. cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We meant to stay 2 nights, but extended our visit because of Robert and Wendy's excellent hospitality. Their knowlede of the wineries and local neighbourhood - especially the best restaurants - gave us a good all round impression of Hawke's Bay on a very short trip. They also made you feel thoroughly at home, as if you were friends, not tourists. A first class advertisement for Napier - we thought it a great place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bretherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

Wendy & I appreciate your kind words and thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We strive to make each visit memorable. The extra day to enjoy what this region has to offer was a great move! Napier is blessed with many top restaurants and world class wines abound in the Hawkes Bay region. It is our 'mission' to introduce the 'freshest' and best local producers/ dining places to our guests. We personally check out each and every provider before making recommendations. We are located an easy 5 minute walk to NZ's oldest winery and fine dining, with a 7 minute drive to many more in Napier's old port district, 'Ahurihi'. We were pleased our service was everything you wished it to be, and wish you a safe journey home. Hope to see you for an even longer stay next time!
cheers,
Robert Simon, owner/manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We have mixed feelings about our stay at the Mission B & B. It was generally satisfactory but certainly not as outstanding as reflected in other reviews. I suspect that is because our room/bathroom were pretty ordinary, and we were very happy that we'd booked at a fairly cheap rate ($139 NZ) through Wotif.co.nz. If we were paying twice that, we'd not have been happy. On the positive side, Robert and Wendy were friendly, knowledgeable, and ready to answer questions about Napier, advise about and make reservations at local wineries, restaurants, golf courses, etc. Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit and tasty, home-made muesli. On the other hand, our room (the Trinity room) felt very cramped. A large, comfortable bed took up nearly the entire room. The bathroom was a refitted closet with the smallest sink I've ever seen. It was hard to shave, brush your teeth, or wash your wands without water dripping or splashing on the floor. The light over the bed was terribly bright and it would have been impossible to read without disturbing my partner. Our "view" was of the driveway, and we were surprised by the amount of traffic noise on what we thought was a quiet residential street. The location was just OK. It was convenient to the Mission Winery, where we had a wonderful dinner our first night in Napier. It was quite a distance into Napier. On the plus side, there is a large comfortable guest lounge and a large patio/deck/gardens outside, although during our stay the weather unfortunately wasn't nice enough to enjoy the outside amenities. The guest lounge was very pleasant when we were the only guests, but not so much when we were sharing with others with very different TV tastes. I understand that there is a very nice large bedroom/bathroom, with a private entrance, as well as private patio access. That may provide a significantly better experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2011

hi A + R:
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mission B&B on the Avenue, Napier's premier wine themed B&B. Wendy and I apologize if we didn't meet your standards, and hope you have fully recovered from your injury. We remember you were in some difficulty with the arm in the sling, 'A', and were having trouble washing your hair. We did invite you to use an unused, and much larger bathroom outside YOUR room if it would have made life easier. Re the 'lights': they are adjustable, and we would have done that had known at the time there was an 'issue'. Our guest lounge is large and has a Blue Ray Hi Def Home Cinema for the enjoyment of all 'in house' guests. When 2 parties staying with us differ on a choice of 'content' to be viewed, we can again only apologize and trust they will work it out. This is the 1st time we've received comment . Our owner's apartment fronts on the same side of the house as your room, and 'traffic' sounds have never bothered us. Avenue Road is a fairly quiet city street 7 minutes drive to the CBD, and an easy 3 minute walk to the gates of NZ's oldest winery: The Mission. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal there. We get so many positive comments about our location. Again, it was a pleasure hosting you, and we'd welcome the opportunity of a return visit with the offer of a complimentary upgrade to our 'Mission Room'. Thanking you,
Robert Simon & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Robert and Wendy were terrific hosts....modern, nice room and bath in quiet neighborhood near Mission Winery. Loved the outside space too. Guest lounge very inviting. Hawkes Bay shouldn't be missed. Very pleased with helpfulness of host. Great stay and great value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromchicago2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bver88, Owner at Mission B & B on the Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

We appreciate your positive comments and thanks for the kind words. WEestrive to make each and every stay special. Hawkes Bay is a wonderful holiday destination seen by all too few NZ visitors and wish more would make the trip to the East Coast to enjoy our special brand of hospitality. A world class wine region with great food. Thanks for taking the time to review your Napier visit. Please come back to us SOON! cheers, RS & W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
939 reviews
4.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#7 of 41 in Napier
53 reviews
3.9 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
564 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission B & B on the Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission B & B on the Avenue

Address: 140 Avenue Road | (Mission end), Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $68 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to NAPIER, New Zealand's ART DECO CITY * Bed & delicious home catered breakfast. * Owner / hosts on site for a very special level of service: Robert Simon, foodie & wine tour guide & Wendy: design artist, eldercare specialist & 4th generation Napierite. * Luxury home in dress circle Mission Quarter of Napier City is 250m to gates of country's oldest winery, Mission Estate (1851), an easy walk to fine dining 7 days a week lunch & dinner. * Boutique 3 unit accommodation in quiet private & secluded family home. * #1 Napier & HB region B&B.... 2013 - present on Trip Advisor: Certificate of Excellence & Hall of Fame award recipient. * FREE WiFi. * FREE offstreet parking. * FREE laundry on site. * Free his n hers bike loan. * NO STEPS! Comfort & Style on one level for easy access & welcome to guests of all ages. * ENSUITE or Private bath: a no share policy. * LOW ALLERGEN smoke & pet free home: spacious garden property, mature native trees & birds. * Taipo Stream flows to the rear. Views to Sugarloaf Peak. Vineyards 250m along the domain with new pathways for cyclists & walkers. * Ride the NAPIER TRAIL: 42km circuit from our door round our beautiful city. Safety & Comfort! * ENJOY our complimentary 'his & hers' bikes. * AL FRESCO wine & dine: Enjoy a regional wine on our expansive decking. * Learn about our amazing terroir & world class wines from resident guide & host, Robert Simon. * FRESH & seasonal local products are featured at breakfast: served outdoors when possible. * ALL breakfasts feature FRESH fruit salad, squeezed in house juice, 'real' coffee & leaf teas. * HD cinema lounge SKY tv / NetFlix. * piano, large BluRay library complimentary * 24/7 tea/coffee station. * Full size fridge, microwave, BBQ & crockery for limited light meal prep. * FREE WiFi in all guest areas. * FREE Inbound calls to our FREEphone. * In House licensed passenger service offers exclusive & personal tours in NEW luxury 12+ pax coach. * Make your visit to the Art Deco world's Capital very special. * Independent & distinctly NAPIER: * Welcome to MISSION B&B on the AVENUE in the Mission Quarter, 140 Avenue Road (Mission end) Napier 4112. * Reservation Options: Book your Mission B&B on the Avenue reservations with confidence DIRECTLY from owner/ operator & always with the best discount and special offers by quoting this Trip Advisor link. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing