We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Ranked #25 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
320 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Napier has so many great cafes but we found this one top notch, easy parking outside , fantastic service and wicked food ! Four of us ate there and we will all extremely impressed with the food, personally I had the best omelet I have ever tasted ! Great place

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eddiefredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    94
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ongaonga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Been going here regularly around 6 years now. Great food, great service - they even popped out to buy a bottle of wine they didn't have on their cellar list - Oh, and buy the way, the food is superb and extremely good value - they even have Blue Cod!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LastoleaveLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely location and presentable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

i liked the location with a gorgeous view over the old fishing village area.
THe menu had most of the standard items, and they were reasonably done. i had the grandmas lambs fry with bacon (not having had this for 20 years) and was not disappointed nor was i thrilled. After all this is an ale house, so the wine list was a tad uninteresting. THe beers i thought were not special though there was quite a range, and there are a lot more to try.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nickandjude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We go here most weeks for lunch. Set by the fishing boats and scenic innerharbour views. Sit upstairs by the window or on the deck to appreciate. Friendly and helpful staff. Comprehensive menu selection and great value for money probably one of the best values in Napier.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizH2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe
1 review
“Which steak?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I enjoyed the meal and the setting but it does have 3 variations on steak and you won't see if you got what you ordered until you have exposed it from the bread, tomato and lettuce that it is packed in. I ordered Scotch fillet but was served the cheaper steak.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing