We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NZ”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We agree with all the other reviews.
We stayed for two nights in a corner suite overlooking the ocean. The room was well equipped and of the highest quality.
Just a short walk to the beautiful art-deco heart of Napier

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for The Nautilus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 576 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

The motel is located along the main beach road in Napier and very easy to find. We had a nice one bed unit on the first floor which had a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom and a balcony looking out over the beach. The room had everything we needed and was clean and modern. The staff upon check in was very helpful and found us a wine tour to go on even though we had arrived after the start time of the tour. The tour organiser (Vince) came back to the motel and picked us up and we then had a really enjoyable afternoon touring the vineyards.

Napier had a really nice feel to it and I wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingademon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Stayed here just one night as part of a tour of New Zealand - and just wish all the hotels used were up to this standard. Great modern furnishings - comfy leather chairs and couch in the living area = plus a great widescreen tv, Also fitted in solid dining table and chairs - and coffee table. And mini desk with internet connection for keeping up with emails! Great spa bath in the bedroom - plus a bathroom and kitchen. All immaculate and squeaky clean. Chose to have an evening meal on the balcony of the room - looking out to sea - but across a road. And there is some traffic noise - but a great view makes up for it.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

This has to be the best place in NZ. The standards are highest in terms of decoration and furnishings. Lovely use of space with seperate bedroom and lounge, and lovely balcony. Massive flatscreen tv, and spa just feet from your bed. Lovely kitchen area, and so nice to see modern trendy furniture in a hotel room which makes you feel valued.
I cannot see how they manage to have this level of standard at the low prices they do.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobytickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We picked the Nautilus based on other people's reviews and were not disappointed. Travelling around NZ had shown that motels and accomodation was of a good standard and the Natilus is a good example of this. The hotel is in a good location on the main sea front road providing easy access to the sea front attractions and the town itself.
Accomodation wise, the room provided: a comfortable bed, seating area, kitchenette, spa bath and seperate bathroom. The style overall was contemporary and stylish. If returning to Napier I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I have stayed at the Nautilus twice now and both times it has not dissapointed. The first time we had not booked and looked at a couple of places and the Nautilus was by far the best and very reasonably priced about $130 per night. Did pay a bit more - $170 the next time but its worth it. The spa bath alone is worth it! The upstairs balcony is a good size, really nice to eat outside with some nice wine and great views. There is a nice thai restuarant just up the road but aside from that every other restuarant we have been to in Napier have been very disapointing so its good to be able prepare a simple meal. Only downside is carrying luggage up the stairs to the room - not fun if like us you were on the top level.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laineyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The rooms were spacious. Had a great view of the beach from our huge balcony. Loved the jacuzzi in the big room. Very comfortable and clean. Had a very nice meal in the restaurant. Great value, very nice staff, good location. Walked to town easily and a close drive to wineries and golf course.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
914 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $69 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing