We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Nautilus Napier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“The Nautilus Napier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We travelled with our good friends to do a wine tour. The standard Room was amazing. Great Spa Bath, Bed and pillows were comfy. Friendly service from all the staff including the cleaning staff. Viewing the Sunrise in the mornings was an absolutely bonus. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitmanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Nautilus and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Napier. We hope you enjoyed your wine tour. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    191
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
347
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Found it very hard to fault anything about the hotel. The room was probably one of the best we have had with a huge bath, great shower, lovely sitting area, huge bed, nice kitchenette. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it certainly looked nice. 10/10 for this hotel.................and of couse lovely views of the ocean. This was an upgare premium room - highly recommended

Room Tip: take an upgrade to premium room - awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so very much for your recommendation. We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found your room and its' amenities to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Good room, right on marine parade looking out across to the beach. Clean tidy, well equiped including airconditioning which not all motels near by have. Very good. Highly recommended for Napier stays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Nautilus. We are happy you found the room and hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Napier. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Very happy with the facilities at the Nautilus. The bathroom was huge, as was the room itself.
We were able to completely relax in the wonderfully appointed room. Furnishings were very tasteful. Even things such as salt and pepper were provided in the kitchen. We were not left wanting for anything at the Nautilus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review of your October 2013 stay at The Nautilus.
We are glad you found your accommodation to your liking and that your time with us was comfortable and relaxing. We look foward to being able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
369 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Nautilus is a very nice beachfront motel, on the Marine Parade. We had an Executive Suite facing the water, with a small living room and deck with a table and chairs to enjoy the view. The bed was comfortable, room was quiet, and free wi-fi is included. The kitchenette was decent and the bathroom had good counter space, a heated towel rack and good-sized shower. Then there is the HUGE round jetted tub in the bedroom (which takes forever to fill.) It’s kind of fun, but I would gladly have traded that for a proper closet and some drawer space. There were literally NO drawers other than a tiny one in each bedside table, and the closet was a joke – about a foot wide, with 3-4 hangers, and an ironing board. It was difficult even to find space to lay two suitcases. An unfortunate flaw in an otherwise nice accommodation.

It’s a nice stroll along the Marine Parade to the center of town, a few blocks away. The motel parking lot does get full, but there is plenty of parking on the street behind it (parallel to Marine Parade) so it wasn’t a problem. Note that the office closes at 9pm. We didn’t try the onsite restaurant.

All in all, it was fine for a couple of nights but I wouldn’t want to be living out of our suitcases for an extended stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
The rooms have been designed to provide maximum living space and we do acknowledge that some guests may find the closet space small.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We,my wife and I were extremely pleased with the presentation and price of our 3rd story room in the Nautilus.NZ$145 a night(Saturday) for a room with a balcony overlooking the beach with a spa bath in the room with the same ocean view is excellent value when compared to other places we had stayed at on our trip.The owner, his wife and their domestic staff were very helpful with information about local attractions etc.They and their motel helped us enjoy our short time in Napier. Our room also had a kitchen and air conditioning.It looked brand new or as if our room had just been upgraded.We would definitely stay hear again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at The Nautilus.
As Managers, we and our staff are focussed on providing our guests with a relaxing and comfortable stay. We were happy to point you in the right direction with attractions etc.
It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Absolutely fabulous and large serviced apartment style room with all mod cons and great location. Excellent value for money as well, we got special deal due to day of week (Tuesday) and off season. Great breakfast at their restaurant as well, I had the big breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the side of the hotel but still had a great view of the sea out towards the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your comments and that you found our accommodation value for money.
We have passed on your comments regarding breakfast to our chef.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 48 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing