We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nautilus
Nearby Hotels
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motor Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marineland Motels(Napier)(Great Value!)
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$104
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Front Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$98
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
365
209
27
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
209
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmarine paradeluggage lifttop floorbi fold doorslounge suiteacross the roadbig spashort walk into townlarge showeronsite restaurantocean viewseparate bedroomstay there againbig roomflat screen tvcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 612 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Good room, right on marine parade looking out across to the beach. Clean tidy, well equiped including airconditioning which not all motels near by have. Very good. Highly recommended for Napier stays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Nautilus. We are happy you found the room and hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Napier. Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Very happy with the facilities at the Nautilus. The bathroom was huge, as was the room itself.
We were able to completely relax in the wonderfully appointed room. Furnishings were very tasteful. Even things such as salt and pepper were provided in the kitchen. We were not left wanting for anything at the Nautilus.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review of your October 2013 stay at The Nautilus.
We are glad you found your accommodation to your liking and that your time with us was comfortable and relaxing. We look foward to being able to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Nautilus is a very nice beachfront motel, on the Marine Parade. We had an Executive Suite facing the water, with a small living room and deck with a table and chairs to enjoy the view. The bed was comfortable, room was quiet, and free wi-fi is included. The kitchenette was decent and the bathroom had good counter space, a heated towel rack and good-sized shower. Then there is the HUGE round jetted tub in the bedroom (which takes forever to fill.) It’s kind of fun, but I would gladly have traded that for a proper closet and some drawer space. There were literally NO drawers other than a tiny one in each bedside table, and the closet was a joke – about a foot wide, with 3-4 hangers, and an ironing board. It was difficult even to find space to lay two suitcases. An unfortunate flaw in an otherwise nice accommodation.

It’s a nice stroll along the Marine Parade to the center of town, a few blocks away. The motel parking lot does get full, but there is plenty of parking on the street behind it (parallel to Marine Parade) so it wasn’t a problem. Note that the office closes at 9pm. We didn’t try the onsite restaurant.

All in all, it was fine for a couple of nights but I wouldn’t want to be living out of our suitcases for an extended stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
The rooms have been designed to provide maximum living space and we do acknowledge that some guests may find the closet space small.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We,my wife and I were extremely pleased with the presentation and price of our 3rd story room in the Nautilus.NZ$145 a night(Saturday) for a room with a balcony overlooking the beach with a spa bath in the room with the same ocean view is excellent value when compared to other places we had stayed at on our trip.The owner, his wife and their domestic staff were very helpful with information about local attractions etc.They and their motel helped us enjoy our short time in Napier. Our room also had a kitchen and air conditioning.It looked brand new or as if our room had just been upgraded.We would definitely stay hear again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at The Nautilus.
As Managers, we and our staff are focussed on providing our guests with a relaxing and comfortable stay. We were happy to point you in the right direction with attractions etc.
It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope your trip went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Absolutely fabulous and large serviced apartment style room with all mod cons and great location. Excellent value for money as well, we got special deal due to day of week (Tuesday) and off season. Great breakfast at their restaurant as well, I had the big breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the side of the hotel but still had a great view of the sea out towards the east.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your comments and that you found our accommodation value for money.
We have passed on your comments regarding breakfast to our chef.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews