We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Napier”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Napier on a recce to determine if we wanted to live there! Made a fairly late booking via a third party website and were delighted with our choice. It is a modern and stylish facility on Marine Parade, probably a leisurely 10 minute stroll into town. The apartments are spacious and well appointed, the spa bath is huge! A large couch and chairs fit easily in the room, there really is bags of space.

Staff were very helpful and a couple of minor issues were soon rectified. The plug in the spa was broken!

Recommended with confidence. It was low season but the rate was excellent as well, great value.

Room Tip: All rooms face Marine Parade so there is some traffic noise,however, not that intrusive. A different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review of your time spent with us.
We appreciate your comments and would love to welcome you back at some stage.

Your tip was also most appreciated and rest assured we have actively raised concerns with Napier City Council regarding trucks using Marine Parade on route to and from the Port of Napier.

Thanks again and all the very best from us all at The Nautilus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 581 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We called into the I-site in Napier to find a motel for the night - preferably on Marine parade, with a kitchen and not too pricey. The Nautilus offered a very good price so they booked us in. We arrived at the motel and were very pleasantly surprised by the luxurious decor and the lovely outlook to the sea. The kitchen was well appointed and allowed us to cook our dinner that evening. We enjoyed breakfast on our sunny balcony the next morning. The Nautilus is an easy walk from the main centre of town and also supermarkets. The room was spotlessly clean and the towels thick and fluffy! Our room was on the upper level. This was one of our favourite motels during our month driving in New Zealand. We strongly recommend The Nautilus in Napier.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are more private and slightly better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. We have shared your comments with our staff and greatly appreciate the opportunity you gave us to provide a positive experience during your time at The Nautilus.
Thank you for your recommendation and for the time you tokk to post your review.
We look forward to you staying again on your next visit to Napier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

You really feel welcome and well looker after. Very clean and tidy and you will have a spa bath. Right on Marine Parade. Walking distance to the city centre. Very competitive price. Highly recommended.Thanks. Stephanie from Gisborne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephM317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thankyou for your kind words and for taking the time to post such a positive review, it is greatly appreciated.
We look forward to being able to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful good sized room booked on wotif for great deal.
Views over ocean, big spa in room, very comfy bed and furnishings, also has small kitchen.
We liked the hotel and city so much we decided to stay a second night and are now contemplating a third after the quake In wellington! Def recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiritbird116812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Nautilus.
Your kind words are much appreciated and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

For a motel this was quite nice if you are looking for somewhere central in Napier that is clean, basic and good value. Does have good views, unfortunately this time of year a lot of construction was going on across the road. Last time we had a superior room and the views were great.
The restaurant lacked any atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at The Nautilus.
We appreciate your comments and advise you that changes are planned to add further atmosphere and ambience to our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nautilus and to Burtons restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week and I am glad I stayed here. Let me tell you, you will not be disappointed in any way. On arrival we were greeted with the best service, friendly polite and helpful staff. The room was more than we expected and got a free upgrade. Anything we asked for during our stayed was offered and dealt with promptly. The staff even went out of their way to ask how our holiday was going. We also dinned in the onsite Restaurant and used room service. The restaurant was sooooo good we never went to any other in Napier. Breakfast was to die for. If you are looking for somewhere central within walking distance to town and recreation then this is the place. Best of all I enjoyed sitting on the Balcony over looking the whole stretch of the beach across the road.
Nicola Wallace

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your time in posting your recent stay at The Nautilus.
We appreciate your kind words which will be passed onto our employees.
Thank you again your feedback is appreciated and enables us to exceed the high standards we have set.
We look forward to seeing you again in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a very pleasant two day stay at The Nautilus. Fantastic room, and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and efficient staff. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The spa pool in the room was large with plenty of hot water. Well done!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tauranga-Chamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Nautilus it is much appreciated and enables us to maintain the high stadards we aspire to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $116 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing