We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great rooms”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in a room on the top floor. Great views from a lovely deck. Big bedroom and it had a clean smart bathroom. Best of all it had a truly big spa bath that was pretty as well as large - not located in the bathroom but in the main bedroom - lots of room available so it was a joy to use it. Staff were nice and the restaurant served lovely food. Only negative comment about this place is we had to walk up the outside stairs to get to room, not so great if you have a leg or hip problem.

Room Tip: Worth walking up all the stairs to get to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    194
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
359
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great stay. Rooms very comfortable, lovely spa bath in room. Restaurant superb. Got a deal for $80 pp for a meal, included entree, main and cooked breakfast next day. Best steak had in ages. Had brekkie sent up to room for a small charge. Great romantic weekend away

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I made an overnight stay at the Nautilus whilst on a business trip. I had a ground floor unit facing the main road, Marine Parade. The unit was large, with a bedroom containing two single beds, kitchenette off the main corridor, bathroom with shower and large spa-bath, then a main room with desk, table, king-size bed, couch and two armchairs. Good sized plasma TV, and all delivered in a modern stylish way. Check in and out was courteous and efficient. The room was reasonably quiet given its proximity to the road, and traffic noise did not disturb a good nights' sleep. My colleague and I also ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was quick and a good size, well-priced, but the selection was a bit limited. Breakfast was good value, and the restaurant is well placed to catch the sunrise over the beach across the road. My one and only gripe was an almost complete lack of convenient power points near either the desk or table.

Room Tip: Rooms that are adjacent to Marine Parade get a great view across the road to the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadbury64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms here are a good size and comfortable. The place is right on the beach and has nice views. There is plenty to do on the waterfront including a great park for the kids.
We found the food in the restaurant to be below average for lunch and dinner and I would recommend eating out.
Staff at the desk and the restaurant were quite nice.
large bathrooms and also a good sized kitchenette.
Worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Nautilus Napier is a fantastic place to stay. Eat in, dine out at their restaurant, or choose restaurant close by. Their food was great though! Beautiful views of the ocean. wonderful spa pool and is quite superbly set up. Close walk to town as well. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If indulging, this id the place to come rest and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochelleandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and were blown away by the room. We booked it last minute and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money. Ocean views, large spa and large room to boot! Highly recommended to those travelling to Napier!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browny36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel represents a trilogy of perfections:

1. Great location: Only a road separates it from the waterfront
2. Family Focus: On the waterfront there are a fantastic range of well constructed activity
quadrants ranging from mini-golf to skating and scooter ramps to cycle tracks. a real Family
oriented Mecca.
3. Friendly staff: You just have to say that David said that they must take care of you.

Also the room was "top class" with a large spa-pool in the bed room.
i have visited many places and can say that the Nautilusis the best, better than all the rest

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor gave us a view which was just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naddy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing