We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice room with double spa bath and lovely views on the Marine Parade. Comfortable lounge area with leather couch, big TV and great bathroom. Only complaint is that the office closes at 9pm and no way of contacting the management after hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    189
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
346
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were recommended this hotel last year by friends and it was exactly as described by them.

Our second visit last weekend was just as good especially as the two visits have had perfect weather :-) Our first stay was in an executive suite which has a dividing wall with open aspect looking towards the lounge and the sea front, whilst the room we stayed in this time was a standard room. Both types of room have kitchenettes, lovely comfortable beds, flat screen tv, fantastic huge spa bath and balcony overlooking the spectacular sea views.

There is a restaurant on site, but we preferred to walk and explore the local eateries.

We will be back next time we visit Napier as this place is perfectly located (quieter end of town but still within easy walking distance of everywhere).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach waters
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

At NZ$150/night this was a great deal for a family of 5 but the reception from the manager was not welcoming when I asked about washing facilities. The room was immaculate, clean and upmarket, across from the beach and had an excellent kitchenette . The kids loved the huge spa and large TV. Located on the edge of town it's advisable to walk the streets of Napier and see the photos outside buildings of the destruction done by the 1930 earthquake. Also visit the beautiful Memorial gardens/ waterfall built by convict labour. If driving, be careful of speed cameras.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallibull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Wanted some R & R after finishing a really busy work project and this place was definitely the right choice for us. Rooms were lovely, quite luxurious with lovely view. Great breakfast - enjoyed the humour of the staff, friendly but not intrusive. Would we go back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

The unit was just the right size but had everything you'd need including a double spa bath, huge shower, king size bed and good kitchen facitilities. The Apartments are only 2 1/2 years old so they are clean, modern and have black leather seating and huge TV on wall.
We had a view of the ocean from the floor to ceiling windows which faced another street which we were on the corner of also. We asked for a quiet unit and it was and we were up on the 3rd floor which one has to climb up outside covered stairs but if you can't climb stairs, then ask for a ground level unit. The week we were there was one of exception with snow all over NZ so we were grateful for the heatpump. Also we were close enough to town to be able to easily walk there. And the asscociated Burtons Restaurant there was good value. The Kiwi owners of the place were people we could easily relate to.

Room Tip: I think that all the units have ocean views and some would be directly across road from ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had only 1 night stay in Napier (on our way from Auckland to Wellington). We arrived late after 11pm, but made arrangements with the hotel for late check-in. We also had to leave early and it was easy to make arrangements for early check-out. Wish we had more time here - the decor was superb, the room was spotless. So spacious - it was an entire apartment. The bathroom had a spa and it looked like the place had been recently refurbished. Can only imagine the view to the shore across the road. We will definately be back!

We also loved this place due to a great deal on Wotif.com!

Room Tip: We stayed on the left most apartment ground floor looking towards the shoreline
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELLINGTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I rung to enquire about the Nautilus special they had on "WOTIF". I had gone on to there website, to find there was no information about it. So I decided to ring them. I spoke to John who apparently was the Manager.

He was anything but nice, I told him I had been on Wotif and I saw there special. I wanted more information and had gone on to there website.

He didn't seem interested and did not know what I was talking about when I explained I was on Wotif. I told him that I was also on the hotel website and he was very disgruntled and told me I was not going to found any pictures on the website. When I asked why he said sarcastically "they are on wotif". I told him there was no pictures and he hung up on me.

The whole conversation didn't go well all and he made me feel like I was not a "valued customer".

He definitely has lost a POTENTIAL customer!!!

I work in the hotel industry and am disgusted to have been treated this way especially from a manager!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WELLINGTONLILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
The Nautilus Special is available exclusively through Wotif and details will not be listed on any other site.

To clarify: The Nautilus Special is offered in very limited numbers at a heavily discounted rate. For this reason the room style will vary depending on availability. During the course of the conversation we were unable to ascertain the date required, despite repeated requests. Therefore the exact details of the room were unable to be advised. However, many features including the 40” flat screen television, double spa bath and air conditioning are standard in all room styles.

Unfortunately your abrupt termination of the second telephone call did not allow for any further explanation.

While we found your tone to be aggressive we do acknowledge that ultimately the conversation was not handled in the usual professional manner reflected in our other reviews.

We apologise for any confusion.

The Nautilus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 48 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing