We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, great service, and great view”

The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #20 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service, and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We walked down from our motel and had a couple of beers and an entree each. The meal was fabulous. It was well presented and the taste was exquisite. The service was prompt and the place has a great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    89
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went as we wanted to watch the rugby on Sky TV and were pleasantly surprised by the food - we had steamed mussels in ginger, lime and chilli, beek teriyaki salad and seafood linguini which were all excellent.
The staff were friendly, helpful and there when you needed them.
Good location with indoor and outdoor seating and a good atmosphere

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Livivg in Napier we are spoilt for choice with the many wonderful restaurants we have. However we are once again drawn to one of our favourites The Gin Trap.
Sitting on the deck enjoying the fabulous views , waving at passing tourists & enjoying the ambience on a beautiful Hawkes Bay day.
Great food , Great service , Great staff ... Favorite dish Seafood Linguini ( to die for ) complemented with a glass of Gewurztraminer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicNapier_NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and took advantage of the 2-for-1 ribeye offer. The hash brown was good but the steak itself was more like medium rather than the medium rare we ordered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huhugrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

On arriving we were given menus and asked to take a seat wherever. The waitress came over and asked if we wanted any drinks. Unfortunately she failed to advise us of the special deal that evening and what the fish of th day was. However on ordering our food she did advise us to have a side of salad with a main meal as she believed it needed it (she was right).
Later in the evening after we had eaten we overheard the waitress advising a table of a wonderful offer for steak which we were not offered...disappointing.
Overall this did not spoil the evening it just tarnished our thoughts about the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZSaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing