We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but way to expensive”
Review of Cullens Restaurant - CLOSED

Cullens Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but way to expensive”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food was very nice, but not worth the price that was charged. If you love seafood it might be worth it but $30+ for a bit of chicken and $18 for a small desert is a bit steep!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently very good”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Good service, the food was excellent. Not too busy. Excellent ambiance. We ate the Fish of the day with a seafood risotto, the fish was hake which was perfectly cooked, still moist but firm. The risotto was flavoursome. The guys ate the lamb and couscous, the NZ lamb was cooked to perfection, still pink. Topped off with creme brulée, pear tartin and affogato.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penneycameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jun F, Manager at Cullens Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Pennycameron,

I am very glad you enjoyed your meal at Cullens, and a big thank you for your very detailed review of our food which was a pleasure to read!

Thanks once more, and we hope we would have the pleasure of you dining with us.

Best regards,

Jun Fu
Assistant Manager
Cullens Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh fish and wonderful service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sunday night in Hamilton and everything was shut. I hadn't checked out this place on Tripadvisor but it looked really nice - a very simple menu full of fresh fish. From the moment we walked in, we couldn't have been better looked after. We decided to try different wines by the glass, and the waitress was very knowledgable about the list. They were wonderful about my dietary requirements too, (no wheat, no dairy) and brought me gluten free bread without even being asked. My main course - Hapuka - was one of the most delicious fish dishes I've ever had. Apart from Ortega Fish Shack in Wellington, this was the best meal I had in a month of travelling around New Zealand.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very expensive for very average food. Wannabe fancy with not much going for it in terms of flavour, partially incredibly salty, partially plain - overall a mix of too many flavours none of which were tasty and didn't work together. Presentation showed some effort but couldn't distract much from the taste. Pretty disappointed sadly. Atmosphere was quite nice though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A night with friends”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful food, good setting, service was good too. Really enjoyed the experience, and will be happy to return. Only slight issue was I think our. Waitress was run off her feet, maybe should have had extra staff on for a busy Saturday night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinCamilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullens Restaurant also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing