We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 362 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old school pub”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have visited this pub on 3 occasions. The actual setup of the pub is good but it is never really busy. The great atraction to me is the good range of beer and the setup. The food was reasonably priced but reminded me of school dormitory food. It is quite obvious that the number of customers going through does not justify making fresh food all the time which is why the establishment reverts to frozen and thawed starters etc. It was a dissapointment to see such a well designed place not being utilized. Thinking about it, I really believe this is not a destination type restaurant and is hidden away which makes it underutilized as a convenience destination. A possible solution would be to advertise and maybe get a decent band.(Not the kareoke singers I have seen). Lots of unused potential here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    55
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Classic pub grub and good atmosphere”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A popular place to eat either for lunch or dinner, great selection on the menu plus specials boards, service is good however busy they are. Good selection of local beers to try. Atmosphere is great, especially on nights when there is entertainment or quizzes. Sports TV.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited this pub for lunch because of positive reviews of trip advisor. We were looking for something simple and quick. We were impressed with the range of beer and the pleasant atmosphere. Unfortunately, we were not impressed with the wine or the food. The food was mediocre pub food, stodgy and unordinary. We are unlikely to revisit this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onlyslightlymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

great for going there for lunch quick friendly service. the lamb shanks wow wish they did them to go

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good wholesome pub grub”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Probably the best place for pub grub in Hamilton. This is reflected in how busy it always is. Plenty of parking, good service and decent size good quality meals - important when you're feeding teenagers. Beef yorkshire is always a favourite.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HillJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Cock & Bull Traditional English Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing