We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the Best Restaurant in Hamilton”
Review of Palate

Palate
Ranked #3 of 433 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Went here for my birthday, having wanted to go for a number of years.
This place has an awesome reputation and it completely lived up to it, the whole experience is worth the cost.
Excellent surroundings right by the river and with an air of luxury that is not ostentatious.
Food is the reason to go there and culinary delight is what you get. Choose anything on the menu and it will be awesome.
Booking is essential because they get really busy and expect to part with about $100 each for three courses and wine.
But it is really worth it and I would definitely go there again, to date, this has been my best Hamilton restaurant experience, the challenge is on

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

I had a small team of doctors to dinner in the private dinning room. It is separated from the buzz of the restaurant with beautiful glass panels & offers privacy. The staff were very attentive & the food was outstanding. I'm not a wine drinker but I was assured by my guests that there was a wide range of very good wines. It's a lovely location & I will definitely return here

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 402belindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

I went here with our family and it was a great meal. The goats cheese soufflé was amazingly unforgettable and the steak was cooked beautifully.

The setting is lovely and relaxing and the staff are very friendly and unobtrusive. We will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Nicayla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful food, beautiful atmosphere, great service (that isn't too over the top that it makes you feel awkward). Would definitely return, when I've saved up enough money again :)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank nicola_anne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

We hadn't been to Palate for a while so this visit was a good chance to sample the new menu and restaurant ambiance. We were not disappointed. The menu offered excellent choice and those flavours! Fantastic. The wait staff were knowledgeable and friendly without being obtrusive. Will visit again very soon.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank FlyingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palate also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.