We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palate

Palate
Ranked #3 of 359 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is my first fine dining experience, the staff were pleasant , the food tasted divine, however the portions very small. If they were bigger it would rate 5 star.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    59
    29
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everyone should experience this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went here for dinner having had a look at the menu some time ago. The menu looked great and i was not dissappointed on the night. The meal was absolutely amazing. Dining like this is something everyone should experience at least once in their life. All dishes were amazing in presentation and the tastes were exquisite with lovely wines recommendations to compliment. The service was attentive and friendly. A fantastic experience overall and i will most definitely be returning. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyRotoruaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food-Slow Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Food and Menu Nice, well presented and delicious. Waiting staff very slow, We arrived at 7.30 pm and didnt get our meal until 9 and we had no entree's or starters. We were ignored for far too long. Decor somewhat sterile with not much character.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
283 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food and nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Business dinner here. The menu was based on fresh produce and good quality ingredients. Enjoyed the Angus steak that was cooked perfectly to my order. The new location is nice being alongside the river. Staff friendly and responsive. Very convenient to the Novotel.

Helpful?
Thank jackirmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kiwibluesdude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I took several clients here for dinner and the food was of a very high standard and the service was brilliant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwibluesdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palate also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing