We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a top restaurant”
Review of Domaine Eatery - CLOSED

Domaine Eatery
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“a top restaurant”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had not been to this restaurant in several years and was really happy with the service and menu provided. The food was excellent and we were given vouchers to use next time which was a great bonus as we will be going back. The menu is really interesting- I fully recommend the asparagus starter. It was a really good night out with top food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing dining”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

For a restaurant that was recently awarded a hospitality award, we were somewhat disappointed with the overall hospitality we received when dining at Domaine recently.

An extremely long wait for our first round of drinks; side dishes & condiments were not delivered/offered until well after the mains were delivered to our table.

Our table waiter was well informed and very professional (although I suspect quite new), but she was let down by the little details that the restaurant could/should have offered.

However, my duck was superb! The eye fillet was very ordinary and served with an enormous blob of mashed potato that was flavoured with horseradish. Tasted great, but way too large a serving.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesleychr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I celebrated my birthday at Domaine with a wonderful meal with friends. The food was well presented and delicious. The beef stack of eye fillet was beautifully cooked and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My chocolate dessert was also delicious. They provided me with a little something extra for my birthday which was a lovely touch. The service was excellent and we all enjoyed our variety of meals. I have dined here many times and it has improved a great deal since the last time I dined here. The meal prices are similar to most restaurants in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewlzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Service was very friendly and helpful with our waiter explaining the choices in more detail. My colleague and I had the steak which came with handcut fries and salad , a basic dish but just what we felt like. Others in our group had other dishes which they all thoroughly enjoyed. Prices are about average for New Zealand which is not cheap for restaurant meals in my opnion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“okay.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Pleasant enough, nice service, I was a bit disapointed with my main. The eye fillet was cooked perfectly but I thought the mash and bits of asparagus etc let it down. It was expensive for what it was I thought. My husband had chicken and bacon salad, it was boring. The rubarb dessert was nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Eatery also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing