We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegan Food”

Chinese Healthy Vegetarian Food
Ranked #147 of 362 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
300 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Vegan Food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Vegan Buffet was a surprise to me. We went on a Friday night because we wanted to have dinner with a couple, one of whom is vegan. I thought that the meal would be so-so and that I'd have to call in the the local Burger King to top up. Nonsense. The food was presented in a 16 compartment bain marie. In addition there was a beetroot salad. Yes, there were several tofu dishes, but overall we had a good variety of choices and several dishes had very, very tasty sauces. My partner was put off by the luke warm temperatures, but I didn't mind. The sweet was a vegan 'cheesecake.' It was really, really good. And there was a choice of teas (no milk!). Food is sold by the weight and was surprisingly cheap. We will definitely go back. Vegan Buffet serves ouches five days a week and is open for dinner on Fridays. The menu is the same as the lunch menu. There is a sister restaurant in Te Rapa that is by the same family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant buffet”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Host is always very welcoming and the food is very yummy.
This place although small inside is well worth a visit.
It's a shame it's not open on the weekends. I believe it would be packed then too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyboi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
200 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely Food with the Lovely Shine”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Friendly 'Shine' runs the good quality and good value Taiwanese vegetarian cafe in Ward Street. The buffet style food is varied and tasty, and you pay by weight. A good size meal costs around $7. Basic decor, but a great venue for a cheap wholesome vege meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“It's good healthy food, cheap, and a typical basic Chinese atmosphere. At times very busy.”
Reviewed April 5, 2008

It's good healthy food, cheap, and a typical basic Chinese atmosphere. At times very busy.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Don't be put off by the...”
Reviewed December 20, 2007

Don't be put off by the basic furniture. This place has good quality yummy vege dishes, lots of variety, friendly service, and is well priced for the CBD especially if you're stuck for lunch options

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Healthy Vegetarian Food also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Chinese Healthy Vegetarian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing