We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2010

A great spot in central Hamilton, and one of the few places in the CBD to really open up a view of the river. The rooms were clean and the service was okay, though the $15 per day for parking in Hamilton was slightly surprising. However, it is a great place to leave the car, as almost anything you'll need is in walking distance. Overall it is excellent value for the location, with good "standard Ibis" facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hamilton Tainui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 947 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

great place and great service for the price!! great location close to town
The staff are friendly and the Head Housekeeper was really helpful and lovely
Thankyou for an awesome stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

You get what it says on the tin! No frills, basic but very comfortable and warm room. Clean and comfortable bed, nice towels and plenty ofhot water etc. Breakfast OK but sparse choice.
Check-out understaffed at peak morning time, also delays in retrieving cars from the valet parking which resulted in me nearly missing my flight (gave the required 15 minutes notice to use my car, it arrived after almost 30 mins only after making a bit of a fuss as I was becoming anxious.
Check out staff very pleasant when you eventually get to them.
Have stayed at the Novotel across the road, on balance I'd stick with the Ibis based on value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easternrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My partner and I did not have a pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Luckily we only stayed for one night in transit from Wellington to the northern part of the North Island.

Having stayed at a similar hotel chain before, we knew not to expect a boutique hotel experience with unique rooms, extraordinary designs or any specialties, really. However we had hoped for a minimum standard of customer service, interest in the customer, or any effort to provide the customer with a pleasant stay or even have them return (since it's a chain, that would be a valuable goal, wouldn't it?)

Instead, we started with a negative experience at check-in, when the personnel was extremely bored and unhelpful. The member of staff had no interest in communicating to us in an intelligible way whatever her message was, prompting us to ask several times to repeat louder what she had said. There were no smiles, no niceties exchanged, no making us feel welcome at all. Our keys didn't work for the elevator or the room door, and when we went back to have the problem fixed, there was not even an apology. Now, that's all not very dramatic of course, but when you've driven for hours and pay good money to sleep somewhere comfortable and to just rest and relax, the least you expect is some form of human kindness and welcome.

The room as such was fine, quite big and facing the river. We had Sky television, a nice bathroom and everything was very clean. However, the double bed consisted of two single frames on wheels pushed together, which would be fine if it didn't move every time you tried to sit down or move on your bed. As expected, decoration was a typical impersonal affair, but absolutely fine considering our expectations.

We had our car parked in the underground parking garage, and the next morning a member of staff was supposed to drive it up for us - nice service, we thought, but unfortunately we had to wait almost two hours for them to retrieve our car as they had lost our key! And we only had one! One member of staff told us in a very unapologetic tone that the driver couldn't find the key and that we had to wait a few minutes. Again, no mention of the word sorry, and no updates from her side. The antithesis of proactivity, that's what you could call the staff at reception. After 45 minutes a more senior member of staff apologised to us and said they were working on finding our key, but it took them another half hour to say they'd located the key. We went outside to wait for our car, but it took another 20 minutes or so to actually see it being driven up from the garage. By that point we expected that senior member of staff to offer maybe an additional night's stay in one of NZ's Ibis hotels or some other gesture to make up for this unacceptable event. Instead, he just put our car in front of our feet, got out, waved his hand to say goodbye and smiled, trying to disappear into the hotel as fast as he could. Very poor behaviour.

In fairness I have to add that another member of staff had offered us a coffee while we waited, which we declined as the staff played the problem down and we were expecting the problem to be solved rather swiftly. As we were not kept up-to-date with what was going on for 2 hours, we felt a more appropriate gesture was in order. That never came though.

To me this looks like the staff at Ibis in Hamilton is not very interested in its customers, in providing them with a nice stay or actually having them return. Overhaul of customer service urgently needed. Until then, avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaHegele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights.
Excellent location. Staff good. Its got more than you need from a hotel and at one thirds of the Novotel next to it, why wouldnt you?
room was good - same views as the Novotel.
Room size was fine, bed comfy, work desk good enough for me to do a few hours each night.
Didnt eat there, so no comments.
Top Tip. They will park your car at $15 a day BUT unless you think you will need the car (and you can walk to everything from here) then throw it into the casino car park and the hotel will give you a card to get out for $10. I parked it Sunday night, picked it up Wednesday evening, all for $10.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

A very spacious and comfortable hotel. The room was very clean and new. It was a great location for shopping, bars and restaurants. We had the riverside view room which was fantastic. We only stayed for one night which wasnt enough. We visited the gardens which was spectacular and free we spent the full afternoon there. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldtravellers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed at the Ibis Hamilton for two nights last week.
Hotel has a lovely outlook over the Waikato river and a nice bar area.
Hotel was let down by the rooms- spartan with a tiny bathroom. No storage or space in the bathroom, no shower caps etc.
Food at breakfast was disappointing and uninspired, so much so that I went without on day 2.
No room service and limited choice on the "order and you come pick it up when its ready" menu.
Worst point was the noise which carried from the corridors into the room, as well as through the walls. The doors have automatic closing device on them, which is quite loud- you hear every coming and going in the corridor as well as conversations from well up the hall. I slept very badly both nights I was in theis hotel.
I would try other hotels in the town before this one.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 63 in Hamilton
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing