We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay......pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Just stayed a night here in the 'Tron' for a mates 40th. We checked into the Ibis & had a great stay. Wasnt in the room much but it was clean & functional with a great view over the river. Its a small, funky hotel ideally for business travellers, but is extremely central to Victoria Street (50m). The Fox n Hounds pub is right outside so we quickly settled in there beside the cosy fire with a pint of Guiness, a great steak meal & footy.........heaven!
The price was superb, staff were friendly, and we had a 1pm checkout.......hard to beat. Parking was cheaper in the Casino ($10) as opposed to the valet park........not really a problem and the brekky, Sunday paper & coffee in the morning downstairs on the balcony, in the sunshine overlooking the mighty Waikato was magic.........aaaaahhhh!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 968 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

It seems that some head-office Ibis executive had a brainwave: let's save ourselves a few dollars on staff by making tired customers go down to the cafe and pick up their own room service meals, and make them balance the trays awkwardly in one hand while using their swipe cards to get back up to their floor.

And while we're at it, let's save money on electricity by not heating the meals up enough.

And let's make a bit more money from each customer by charging for valet parking, which will come as a surprise to the customers but too late for them to make other arrangements.

Bad ideas, mister Ibis executive. Business travellers are cursing your name.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YetAnotherWorkTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

If your looking to stay a night or two in Hamilton, this is a great hotel. It offers good discounted prices, is clean and modern, the staff are friendly and it's about as central as you get. If your lucky enough to get a river view then you can't beat this hotel in Hamilton. The hotel is located in the centre of town overlooking the river on the other side. The hotel is modern with all the major features. The standard rooms are a good size. The staff are generally friendly. The hotel has a good buzz, it's modern and looks to only recently booked. It's at the end of a side street so it's nice and quite. In terms of value for money you can't beat it. It's a bus drive from the garden which are best in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ero40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Located next to the river and near many restaurants. Rooms were modern but simple. We had a view over the river which was a nice plus. Internet workstations are availble in the lobby for a small fee-per-minute.

Price was excellent, location was good, and rooms were clean and simple.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 7, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The lack of room service (breakfast and dinner) means that precious time is wasted sitting alone in the restaurant waiting for dinner. I also like to watch the TV news when I have breakfast in my room, not possible here either. The additional $15 per day for valet parking is a rude shock when you think that you have obtained a hotel at a reasonable rate that your employer will stomach. This rate is not advertised. Left an item in the room and they charged me courier to return it to me (it could have been posted). Inflexible. Service was OK but perfunctory. Restaurant was ok. The outside balcony was nice but it was getting too cold to sit there in April. I could not fault the room however. Although it is fully air conditioned which is not my preference, that did mean that it was quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

we booked a "river view" room...view was provided through the one and only window in the room. .disappointing and definitely misrepresented on the hotel website and advertisements...room had 2 double beds which took a lot of space. There was a small writing desk under the window and we left our larger items of luggage in the car because of the limited space in the room itself. Be aware this hotel is not easy to find if you are a novice to the city. it is down a side street and the entrance is behind some construction work. Reception is on the first floor and we were not offered any assistance with our luggage. we found the service to be non existent…and as mentioned the room is pokey, with a small bathroom and only tea/coffee facilities available...not a comfortable room for a traveler to unwind in and we spent most of the evening in the restaurant on the balcony drinking quality NZ wine and relaxing

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $75 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing