We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Dinner was fabulous. We had the breakfast and found it really good. Food was hot and plenty of it. We would stay here again if in Hamilton. Parking is available at a cost (20NZD for the valet parking), Bit of a shambles outside hotel finding somewhere to park to get our baggage out before getting to reception. Minor problem. Found this hotel great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freda_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear fred_gibson,

Thank you for posting a review. It amazing to hear that your dinner was fabulous! I am sorry to hear that our forecourt was busy when you checked in. We certainly are a popular hotel and can get very busy sometimes.
Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 968 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed just one night. Room was clean and comfortable. Had a good view of the river. Didnt have dinner but we had the breakfast and found it realy good. Food was hot and plenty of it. We would stay here again if in Hamilton. We had car valet parking. Bit of a shambles outside hotel finding somewhere to park to get our baggage out before getting to reception. Minor problem. Found this hotel great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Karen D,

It is always a pleasure to receive a review from a Senior Contributor. I am happy that you found the room clean and comfortable and liked the view on the river. Also, sounds like that you really enjoyed the breakfast during your stay as well.
Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the city centre, walking distance to shopping mall and food outlets. Parking is available at a cost (20NZD for the valet parking), but we had a choice that night to park at the casino for 15NZD. The staff is efficient but not a warm welcoming one. When we arrived with the vehicle, we had no idea where to park as all the parking space had been occupied. The staff looked at me, and had no intention of helping me whatsoever. At last, I just park myself at the disable parking and quickly unloaded my luggage, and went to check in. The room is typical Ibis standard, comfortable bed with all the basic amenities. Free Wifi with the Accor membership, stable and fast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Raymond H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is great news that you liked our central location. I am very sorry that that you found the staff didn’t have a warm welcome. I will certainly cover this with my team. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JG2222
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have stayed here several times and never been let down. Very Comfortable Kingsize bed with view overlooking the river. Sure the room is not large but everything you need for a nights stop over.
We had friends join us for a meal, the food was fabulous.
Staff are very friendly and efficient.
Can't fault this Hotel at all. BEST value Hotel = service/location etc
Will stay again as also like the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear corokiwi,

It is always a pleasure receiving such amazing feedback from returning guests. It is great news that you enjoyed the new king size bed, as we have started to replace on the beds within the hotel. The chef was also very happy with your comments about the food being fabulous.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, it is really appreciated.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a good experience here. Stayed several nights and the staff were really pleasant and helpful. I didn't mind the $20 valet parking fee, as it was so convenient. Car was waiting when I needed it. Yummy food and the room was very clean with a great view of the river. New bathroom was really nice. Its not the Ritz but it is a great option for a good bed for the night.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank sweetpea3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Rob B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton.
The whole is delighted with your nice feedback, and glad that you enjoyed our valet car parking service. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed our food and found your stay great for business travellers.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very handy to everything in Hamiton. We stopped for the night on our way to the Waitomo Caves. Rooms were clean and comfortable if a little old fashioned. The staff were courteous and helpful. The only gripe was the $20 valet parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Rob B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. I am really happy that you found the rooms clean and comfortable, and yes we do make a great stop being close to the Waitomo Caves.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $75 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing