We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    427
    201
    55
    23
See reviews for
162
352
107
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent location for shopping, going out for meals and drinks. No need to drive anywhere, everything is within walking distance. Service from the staff isn't the greatest but the room made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Janine T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location and found everything within walking distance.
I am concerned about your comments regarding the staff, as we pride ourselves on great service. If you wish to contact me directly on h6690-gm@accor.com with more specific feedback, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hotel is a very comfortable, centrally located and with nice in room facilities. Its mainly catered for business travellers, with a nice riverview (which you should request for). Nice place to go for long walks from.
The restaurant looks fine but pricey and I didn't chose to eat there.
There are many lovely restaurants nearby, catering for Italian, pub food, Thai and Indian. Also a Cambodian owned 24 hour diner with decent food. A 24 hr diner in NZ? Yes, its true and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Raymond M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. I am really happy that you found the hotel very comfortable and enjoyed the central location. Yes we are close to many restaurants, and have a great restaurant onsite with the river view that you talk about.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North City, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The IBIS Hamilton Tainui is a good hotel for staying in Hamilton. It is about 5 minutes walking distance from the City Transportation Centre so is very convenient for travelers. The room is clean and the staffs are nice. The buffet breakfast (which costs $NZ23.00 per person) is nice but still expensive compare to the nearby restaurants. Another inconvenient is that there is no free wifi (except that you can come to the lobby and get 30mins free wifi per day, but who bother to do that?) and the wifi charge is also expensive (2 hours for $NZ15.00).

Room Tip: The riverside view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgoDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear NgoDT,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. We are all very happy that you loved our central location. We offer a buffet style breakfast, so you can choose from so many options, both hot and cold, abd even have eggs freshly made to order included in the price. We have just been able to secure a better price for our guests, which is much lower than the prices that you stated and has already come into effect.
Thank you once again, and we really happy that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing