We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Centrally Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hotel is a very comfortable, centrally located and with nice in room facilities. Its mainly catered for business travellers, with a nice riverview (which you should request for). Nice place to go for long walks from.
The restaurant looks fine but pricey and I didn't chose to eat there.
There are many lovely restaurants nearby, catering for Italian, pub food, Thai and Indian. Also a Cambodian owned 24 hour diner with decent food. A 24 hr diner in NZ? Yes, its true and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, on a high floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Raymond M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. I am really happy that you found the hotel very comfortable and enjoyed the central location. Yes we are close to many restaurants, and have a great restaurant onsite with the river view that you talk about.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hamilton Tainui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 948 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

The IBIS Hamilton Tainui is a good hotel for staying in Hamilton. It is about 5 minutes walking distance from the City Transportation Centre so is very convenient for travelers. The room is clean and the staffs are nice. The buffet breakfast (which costs $NZ23.00 per person) is nice but still expensive compare to the nearby restaurants. Another inconvenient is that there is no free wifi (except that you can come to the lobby and get 30mins free wifi per day, but who bother to do that?) and the wifi charge is also expensive (2 hours for $NZ15.00).

Room Tip: The riverside view is nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NgoDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear NgoDT,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for ibis Tainui Hamilton. We are all very happy that you loved our central location. We offer a buffet style breakfast, so you can choose from so many options, both hot and cold, abd even have eggs freshly made to order included in the price. We have just been able to secure a better price for our guests, which is much lower than the prices that you stated and has already come into effect.
Thank you once again, and we really happy that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Centrally located, the room was clean, well-maintained and compact. Staff were helpful & courteous. Particularly enjoyed how handy it was to the city. Would recommend. Enjoyed being able to enter & exit the hotel without passing through reception.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Antony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Antony N,

Thanks for choosing ibis Tainui Hamilton for your stay. The team is really pleased to read your amazing comments about our cleanliness and how helpful and courteous the staff were to you. It is true that our central location, with river views, cannot be beaten in the Hamilton CBD.
Thank you again for you time, and we really looking forward to welcoming you back to Hamilton at the ibis Tainui Hamilton.

Sincerely,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Ibis Hamilton is fairly basic but clean and well-maintained with friendly and helpful staff who have knowledge of the local attractions, tours, etc. My only complaint is that there was no self-parking - valet only for $20.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank phillipdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear phillipdavid,

Thank you for your great feedback about our well trained staff. We really try to make sure every guest has a great stay and enjoy all the things that the Waikato has to offer.

Thank you again we hope to welcome you back to Ibis Tainui Hamilton soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#18 of 63 in Hamilton
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing