We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected stay experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Unexpected stay experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

No free parking on site and no free wifi, unexpected experience as wifi is necessary nowadays but I need to pay to get wifi access and it's really bad to know that the speed is limited as well. Valet parking costs me $20 which I expect should be free for hotel stayer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Alisha L,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Tainui Hamilton for your stay. We have only limited car parking spaces as we are centrally located in the city and these spaces do fill up fast. This is why we provide a valet car parking service to ensure that we can park the maximum amount of cars every night. WIFI is free for all Silver Le Club memberships and up, so you should get signed up and enjoy the benefits at over 4000 Accor hotels worldwide.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I hope that you enjoyed your overall stay.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    417
    198
    55
    23
See reviews for
161
344
105
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The room was OK but the extras are a real problem. There seems to be two options for parking - valet at $20 or the nearby casino at $15 per exit. We had two cars so it was all a bit of a mission. You can squeeze a little card out of reception for some open parking but it looked like only some staff were giving them out. Everywhere is tow away and there is no self drive hotel parking. WIFI is expensive, breakfast is $23 for an average buffet and the TV is very small

Room Tip: Higher floors on the river side have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJW_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear SJW_Traveller,

Ibis Tainui Hamilton is centrally located, hence why we have only limited Carparking. We do offer a valet car parking service to ensure that we can park as many cars as possible. WIFI is now free in the hotel for all Silver Le Club memberships and up, so join to receive the benefits at over 400 hotels worldwide with Accor.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a base for visiting Hobbiton and the Glow Worm caves as it was more or less in the middle of both. The thing that first hit me about this hotel was that the room looked exactly like it did in the picture! No surprises is always good. Nice view over the river and bridge with the hotel bar terrace looking out over it all which was nice for a refreshing drink during their happy hour - there is also a riverside path if you fancy a stroll afterwards.

Hotel is centrally located for shops and restaurants only a very short walk away. Generally I can say it was a pleasant surprise to stay here. Only negative point was that the TV in the room was a bit strange - relatively tiny non-widescreen thing with limited choices compared to other places we stayed.

Room Tip: Try and get a river-view room, the front of the hotel overlooks a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Matt D,

I really hope you enjoyed your travels from the other side of the world and got to visit the caves and Hobbiton. Yes we are probably the best base location for these attractions, being in the centre of Hamilton and only a short drive to these very famous attractions. We believe that we provide a quality product, and with over 500 reviews and an international quality chain, I am very happy that you were not disappointed in any way.
I am very happy that you enjoyed the view of the river and glad that you enjoyed a drink while watching the river flow. Certainly a great spot for the summer time!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I wish you a safe return to London.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A pleasant quite 3 star hotel perfect for somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, Bed was fine breaksfast was OK though some of the hot food was a little dry by the time we got down. Good value for location and handy to central Hanilton CBD with good selection of restuarants within 10 mins walk

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear David Quinn,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and yes we are right in the centre of town close to everything. I am sorry about your breakfast and I will certainly cover that with my team. I am very happy that you found the hotel good value, as we believe we are the best value for a central location.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we really hope that we get to welcome you again at Ibis Tainui Hamilton.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#15 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing