We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A pleasant quite 3 star hotel perfect for somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, Bed was fine breaksfast was OK though some of the hot food was a little dry by the time we got down. Good value for location and handy to central Hanilton CBD with good selection of restuarants within 10 mins walk

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear David Quinn,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and yes we are right in the centre of town close to everything. I am sorry about your breakfast and I will certainly cover that with my team. I am very happy that you found the hotel good value, as we believe we are the best value for a central location.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we really hope that we get to welcome you again at Ibis Tainui Hamilton.

Kind Regards,
Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    421
    201
    55
    23
See reviews for
162
349
106
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Typical Ibis hotel central location great view of the river from the dinning room terrace, the the WIFI was very expensive and refused to pay, no other complaint. Nice hotel would visit again. view at rear of hotel better than the front.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear TezFoster,

It is a great pleasure that you enjoyed our great view while dining. We believe that we have one of the best views in Hamilton. Glad that you would visit us again. You can even just come in for dinner; you don’t have to be a guest within the hotel to enjoy the great view in the dining room.

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Nz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Although small the rooms are perfectly adequate. The situation is great-close to shops, river, casino, and the staff are very pleasant. Good value for the money. Breakfast is great sitting on the deck and watching the river. especially if it Sunday market across the bridge.




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pat570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Pat570,

The hotel team would like to say thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback. It is true that we are located in the centre of town, close to the casino, shops and restaurants as you have mentioned.
I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast sitting on our large deck, as it is probably the best view of the river in Hamilton while dinning.
Thank you so much for comments and hopefully you can come back and enjoy another meal on our deck.

Kind Regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Overall for the price we paid our stay was excellent. The staff were courteous & helpful, our room was clean comfortable & tidy & the meals were very good. We will definitely stay there again. Congratulations




  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Macmar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
The hotel team would like to say thank you for the amazing feedback. We believe that we are the best value for money in Hamilton, as we offer a quality product and we are located in the centre of town. To hear that our staff were courteous and helpful, the room was comfortable and tidy, shows the benefits of staying with a hotel over 500 reviews.
Thank you so much for comments and we really look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing