We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOTHING AROUND DURING THE XMAS WEEK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    417
    198
    55
    23
See reviews for
161
344
105
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have stayed at Ibis Hamilton 3 times over the last 2 years. It has always been clean with friendly, helpful staff. It is convenient to Hamilton city restaurants and shopping which is good after a long drive knowing that there are several options for food close by. The valet parking is $20 but even adding this to the rate, the Ibis still seemed a good value option. We did not have breakfast at the hotel this stay but have in the past and it has also been good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel clean and the friendly & helpful - this is of course what we aim for.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui next time you visit Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Another excellent stay at Hamilton Ibis. Employees were there usual, friendly selves and are a pleasure to deal with. Room was clean and comfortable and up to usual high standard. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napiercv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, I am pleased that your enjoy staying with us at Ibis Tainui when you visit Hamilton.
We look forward to welcoming you back during 2012.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived on Cristmas day for two nights stay. Because of this I think they were operating with minimum staff so service could have been better. We had to take our own suitcases from our car to our room. However room was good as we got an upgrade with points accrued on our Accor Club Card. Fridge in room bit no Mini Bar. Thought car parking was expensive at $18 a day. Pleasant dining room and bar area which also had free broadband internet..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleneTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry that your felt that we did not have staff to assist you with you bags, however as an Ibis we do not have some services which allows us to charge a more economic price. This includes services such as porters and minibar.
Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are travelling through Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great city for a few days break. Great location for your accomodation, with walking access to all eateries, shops,etc, or better still one on site!.
Very friendly staff and lovely fresh clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear JanineNz
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel clean and the staff friendly - this is of course what we aim for.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui next time you visit Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

It was pouring with rain when I arrived and I was required to park in a disabled park to check in. I was discusted to be told that I was required to park at the hotel in the next street. Quite a distance to walk in the rain and carry suitcases etc. If I had of known there was going to be NO onsite parking I would never of booked there. Eventually I was told that they could find a park for my rental car. However I could not bring all my suitcases up to my room to pack for my flight out the next day as it was raining so bad.
Next one of the two lifts was not working and the motel was extremely full. The meal was poor and very basic after having to wait too long to be served.
I was discusted to find I had to pay for the parking the next day on checking out. I travel a lot and try to use my accor card were possible. I will never stay at the Ibis in Hamilton again I have stayed in many other motels in Hamilton that offer far better service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rndcjtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. It is through all feedback that we have the opportunity to improve the service and facilities we offer our guests. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations; I have followed up with the team regarding your experience and will ensure improvements are made in these areas. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Tainui in the future so you can experience our usual level of service.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

I found the staff to be extremely helpful and the service to be very good.

The accommodation very comfortable and the room rate was very affordable.

I practically liked the valet parking arrangements and the long dining times available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis next time your visit Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#15 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing