We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Ibis in a good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Standard Ibis in a good spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Easy to find, even after a long flight and drive from Auckland,good check in with adequate Ibis standard rooms. Good spot for exploring Hamilton on foot. Excellent breakfast.
Pity about the $19 car parking fee.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhippy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Oldhippy58
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that our hotel meet with your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui on you next visit to Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    421
    201
    55
    23
See reviews for
162
349
106
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

The trip was about gving our eldest child an experience of nigt clubbing and the city. The location was very ideal and convenient. The parking was awesome and the central location made it easy to walk every were. The montel room and in general the hotel was very nice clean, friendly staff. Appriciate the kindness of the receptionists. We totally enjoy our weekend and felt comfortable and at home. Thank you for a pleasant weekend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your special weekend in Hamilton. It is great to read that your enjoyed your time with us and that the team went out of their way to assist you. I will share these comments with them I am sure that they will serve as encouragement for us all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui in the future.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The spring for the bed is so bad that when i sit on it, i can feel the spring popping out of the bed. Can hardly sleep well at night. Location is really good, which is next to Skycity. The hotel has no other facilities.... just rooms to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui and for taking the time to post your feedback, it is through all feedback that we have an opportunity to improve the service and facilities we offer our guests.
I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you found the bed uncomfortable. Please note that our hotel does have other facilities, we have a restaurant and bar with a lovely balcony over looking the Waikato River, although we do not have gym or pool, our guest do have access to the gym, spa & sauna located at Novotel Tainui just across the road, it is a shame that you did not have a chance to use any of these facilities.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our second stay here when everything was just too expensive in Auckland with the rugby. Just as good as the first time. Parking was full at the hotel but was promptly told where else we could park. We've stayed both city and riversides of the hotel both are fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller6867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. It is always great to receive positive feedback, I have shared your comments with the team and I am sure that they will serve as encouragement for us all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui in the near future.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Positives...great location, very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The rooms were made up everyday and plenty of clean towels, soaps etc all provided. We had a nice view of the tree fringed river out of the window. Not so positive...windows don't open and air-con was too warm even on cold setting.Internet costs were astronomical. No plates, wineglasses, or cooking or reheating facilities so needed to rely on quite pricey hotel food (no room service) or eat out for all meals. The 'grab and go' service was good but still quite expensive for what it was. We were there for 5 nights, so in hind-site probably not a choice for longer stays. Great for an overnighter or short term stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Nellyfudge
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that over all you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct our rooms do not have facilities for cooking or reheating etc, however the team are more than happy to do this for you and provide plates etc if asked.
Again thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, everything else is crap. The rooms, beds, customer service, staff attitude (except couple of staff member), cleanliness, service.....would get better service at backpackers!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. It is through all feedback, both positive and constructive that we have the opportunity to improve the service and facilities we offer our guest. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations; I have shared your comments with the team and will use them to ensure that improvements are made.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing