We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park View Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park View Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was our first night in NZ and were pleasantly surprised with the value for our dollar (compared to Australia) Arrived in pooring rain, but was warmly welcomed by the owners. We appreciated the small touches, especially the QUALITY tea, coffee, etc (not the run of mill labels) Beautiful beds, great TV etc. Considering the budget cost for our room we were impressed that there was a HEATED pool and spa. Lots of children around so it is popular with families. Lovely towels, soaps, etc. Very thoughtfully furnished for such a reasonably priced room. The room of course was spotless.
We congratulate the owners on providing a high quality room for such a low rate.
Ate at the Hamilton Casino which once again was amazing value for money.
If however one cannot cope with stairs make sure you ask for a ground floor room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_AustraliaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
56
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

1. Beds were hard, uncomfortable, which complemented the awful pillows.
2. Neighbouring guests were obviously going to be trouble, and that proved the case They were drinking when we arrived in the afternoon and the noise only stopped when they went out on the town around 11PM. They made sure everyone except for our blissfully sleeping hosts, obviously, were alerted to their return and carried on partying from 3 until around 4:30AM..
3. Service from the hosts was not up to standard. Got told in the morning, "We told everyone we had a phone with us and to call if there were any problems." Seems like they forgot to tell us and other guests we spoke to...
The place is new, nicely furnished and clean, but our experience doesn't make us want to go back. A great place to visit if you're a low-life bogan.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oolonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Park View Motor Lodge for two nights and I must say we had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a one bedroom unit and it was just right for the three of us. We enjoyed all of the facilities and must say that the location would be excellent if you are planning on attending events at the Waikato Stadium. It is also around the corner from Dominio's, Liquor store, Pak 'n' Save, KFC and The Helm Restaurant so the location for me was really good. The only thing I would suggest is tables and chairs for the balcony and a bigger spa bath. But otherwise I cannot complain we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank langim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We tried Park View because of ithe reviews and shows as Number 1 on tripadvisor..so gathered it would be great...not so I'm afraid..have to be truthful and this is the first netral feedback have ever given.
1. No view whatsoever
2. Bed was as hard as an ironing board..so much so our sides hurt the next day
3. Lots of light coming in at night...we had to put a towel over the back window !
4. Very small spa bath compared to other motels we have stayed at and we stay at heaps...travel all the time
5. No balcony or patio area outside the room as other motels have to sit and relax outside
would recommend the Speights Ale House and Japur Walla Indian Resturant and The Londoner

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We booked a night here to rest and recuperate following a serious illness and it was so lovely we immediately booked for two further nights. It was everything I needed - a complete oasis. Spotlessly clean, spacious, modern and comfortable. Our room had a huge bed, table for two, desk and even a small kitchenette with fridge, hob, microwave etc. The shower was incredibly powerful and there was a huge spa bath and even bathrobes! If we could have moved in we would have. We also loved the free broadband (wifi) and offstreet parking. I can't recommend this place enough. The owners were lovely too. The only thing counting against this place is the location directly opposite a rugby stadium. There is some noise on game nights although games don't go late and the rooms are very well sound proofed with the windows closed.

I have travelled all around the world and stayed in countless budget hotels/motels and this one easily beats them all. In fact, it was better than many of the expensive hotels I've stayed at. Why can't all places be like this?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightondebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night as an overnight stop on the way to Auckland. The motel was lovely to stay in.
Staff were friendly and helpful, providing information on shopping and restaurants. (Def try Speights Ale House around the corner - great food!)
Rooms were a little bit small, but suitable for a quick stay. Very clean rooms, colourful and modern with more than enough provisions! Bathroom lovely!
Pool was lovely and warm.
Laundry facilities were free!!!!
Fantastic location if wanting to go to an event at Waikato Park, but not sure that I would want to stay there if there was an event on and you weren't attending it, as you are right across the road!
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We enjoyed a great stay at Park View Motor lodge. Our room was right beside the lovely warm pool and our 5 year old daughter literally spent hours swimming. The staff were friendly and helpful - providing suggestions for activities and walking maps. I had forgotten my cellphone charger and they provided one free of charge for me to use. The units are well appointed and the location is great. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFish747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
2.0 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 64 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Property: Park View Motor Lodge
Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#8 Family Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing