We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modern room, pity it was the weekend.”
Review of Hygate Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hygate Motor Lodge
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersGold level
Mandurah
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern room, pity it was the weekend.”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We only stayed 1 night as we wanted to see the gloworm caves and were en route to Paihia, so we were hoping for a good nights sleep. Unfortunately it was Saturday night and a few wedding guests were staying here. They were not rowdy and drunk, but very noisy until 2am. I couldn't find an after hours number for the owner, at 1.30am my partner went to the door and asked them to be quiet, it took a little while but they were, after half an hour. When I mentioned this the next morning he said that I should have rung the administration number, silly me I didn't think that anyone would be on the desk at 12.30! Apart from that we couldn't fault the room. Clean, comfortable, spacious and modern. Located well for central Hamilton.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
30
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson NZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed one night before catching the Overlander to Wellington. The owners were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Bed very comfortable. Modern, very clean units.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachcomber02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Very clean & modern, very friendly helpful staff but rooms are very basically decorated and poorly equipped. Bare minimum of cutlery and crockery etc. Not cheap

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matavera
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I am very fussy and this was clean, modern, spacious and I would happily stay again. The only downside, which they could rectify, with a little BBQ area , was the lack of outdoor seating...but this is just a personal opinion,.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMatavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Very clean, modern room. Kitchenette is perfect for what we needed. Staff was very helpful, couldnt ask for anything more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We booked this motel based on the reviews of others and were not disappointed. Very clean modern accomodation. Well kept. We booked a spa unit which was spacious and more than meet our needs. We found staff friendly and helpful. Nothing we really didn't like.

We plan to return to this motel on our next trip to Hamilton in Janaury.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed in Hamilton for the first time in order to go to our first Super 14 Rugby game. Chiefs vs Lions. It was our youngest son's 7th birthday suprise. We have tavelled quite extensively in the north island and this was our first stay in Hamilton. We were very pleasantly suprised by this motel. We booked a spa unit for two adults and two children 11yrs & 7 yrs. This was a spacious unit which looked very modern and clean. The kitchen facilities were very good and the tinted glass on the windows helped to maintain privacy. It does not look great from the street but we would say this is a hidden gem. The motel backs onto a huge playing field which can be accessed by a rear gate which can be opened by your room key. Great for the kids to run about with a ball. No swimming pool or spa which would be wonderful. The motel is ideally situated within walking distance to the stadium and is close enough to Pizza Hut and Pak 'N' Save for convenience. The motel owners were very friendly and welcoming and were helpful in directing us to Hamilton Zoo on our departure, (which is better than Auckland zoo), so we would be happy to return to this motel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hygate Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hygate Motor Lodge

Property: Hygate Motor Lodge
Address: 299 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Hygate Motor Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hygate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hygate Motor Lodge where guests will find the best in customer service, amenities and accommodations all for an affordable rate. The Hygate Motor Lodge is an environmentally rated motel offering apartment-style guest rooms each complete with satellite television with 50+ channels, air-conditioning/heat pump and FREE UltraFast Fibre broadband Internet & Wi-Fi (1 password for all devices & NO Data Caps). Executive suites with spa bath are also available. This Hamilton hotel makes breakfast available to guests every morning for a small fee. The motel's additional amenities include meeting facilities accommodating up to 50 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hygate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing