We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelot On Ulster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot On Ulster
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this motel especially the spa. Room was great. Manager was so good ge helped us he gave us big room in cheap pice .Tried to book again but there was no vacancy, will stay again soon. Its close to pac n save.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    66
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
76
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This motel was fine for an overnight stay and the room was clean comfortable and decently equipped. Its not in a great location for finding dinner but fine if you are going to events at the nearby sports stadiums.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week and it was a great choice! The room was big and clean! The Internet was free and FAST!! The cleaners were great! The tv was big and and had all the connections I needed for The play station an laptop to plug in! Bed was very comfy, location is great close to CBD. There is a busy road right out front and you can't hear any traffic.

I would deffenantly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but found the room clean and well appointed. It cost $125 per night which was reasonable.
I have seen some bad reviews of this place but on the sign outside it states that the rooms were newly refurbished so it looks like improvements have been made.
One gripe was ytd temperature in the room as there was no air con just a ceiling fan.
If you need a fairly cheap place to stay this could be gut you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Withnail_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay at the last minute, we got an excellent deal. As we were travelling on motorcycles it was great too as the bikes were out of sight. We will most definitely go back there

Room Tip: If you like a quiet motel ask for a room round the back even though the front ones wouldn't be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland_New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The first unit we were in was unit 34.After unpacking we were making a hot drink and it took six cups to find one clean enough to use.The plates were the same,they felt like sandpaper to touch.
I suggest they were just rinsed under cold water.
After complaining we were moved to unit 28.That evening when preparing our meal we found that the pot we needed had no lid, there was no sieve to strain our pasta and the grill in the oven did not work. After again complaining we were allowed to use the stove in an adjacent unit.
The next day after returning from our sightseeing we found that the rubbish had not been removed by cleaning staff (this is supposed to be a fully serviced facility).
There was no soap rack/caddy in the shower. When I tried to balance a shampoo bottle on the track over the shower door I discovered at least twelve used cakes of soap on it.
Light bulbs were not checked daily, and once again we had to complain.
Management/reception never took responsibility for our complaints, they blamed the cleaning staff,Indians were in the unit before us(very Racist)and they purchased a bulk supply of light bulbs which turned out to be poor quality.
Twice I asked reception for directions to a tourist attraction, but they couldn't help because they were new to the country.
We were given a $15 daily rate reduction but I feel but my overall opinion is that this is a sub-standard establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Classics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Management did give me a good rate, but I couldn't say I would have been happy paying any more for this room. The shower was pretty unpredictable, and a lot of the things in the kitchen had not been cleaned adequately.
On the plus side, it was quite, and you do get free and fairly reliable broadband.
I was in a studio room, and it was OK for a night, but I probably wouldn't want to spend much longer there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#18 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot On Ulster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot On Ulster

Property: Camelot On Ulster
Address: 231 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Camelot Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot On Ulster 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot on Ulster is a family owned and operated motel. New manager Mark Boe fondly remembers growing up at Camelot in the days when his parents built and ran the motel. Now Mark is back with his partner Alix Stevens, and together they are proud and excited to welcome you to Camelot where they endeavour to give you a warm and comfortable stay with that special family feel. Camelot on Ulster is conveniently situated in central Hamilton. It is just a short distance from Centre Place Mall and other central city retail stores, Te Awa the Base, and walking distance to the Waikato Stadium. If you're looking for evening entertainment, Camelot on Ulster is close to the Skycity Casino, three movie theatres and several nightclubs and bars. And if it's dining out you want then there are many restaurants nearby or if dining in it's just a short walk to several supermarkets. Having recently upgraded our rooms and facilities, Camelot on Ulster provides modern, clean and spacious accommodation that is affordable. We offer friendly service for all travellers: from overnight guests, business travellers, families and those requiring long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camelot On Ulster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing