We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a family on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelot On Ulster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camelot On Ulster
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“For a family on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I with our 1 year old son stayed here for one night. The host was friendly and willing to help.

The one bedroom unit we had suited our needs with a lounge area for our son to crawl around, kitchen to prepare our meals and shower over the bath which suited all of us.

The bed was really comfortable and the unit was clean and tidy.

Unfortunately other guests were boozing it up, talking and laughing loudly until about midnight. Then from 2.30am to 4am they returned from the night clubs yelling and banging vehicles waking our son up each time.

We wouldn't have stayed here if we knew we wouldn't get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Check to see if a sports team is on the booze there before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korimako10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    67
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
78
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ohakune
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while playing competitive sport in Hamilton. Very spacious, clean and modern. The only minus with this motel was the spa was out of use because of previous users damaging it and we did book it because it had a spa. Owners very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kune77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Rooms were immaculate the staff were very friendly the room is modern with a nice 30+ inch flat screen tv the only negative I had was the thin doors I could hear everything outside, people getting into cars at 6am and smokers coughing at 2am.
Would defenantly stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Found this place by walking the main street. The room had a double spa with free wifi and some sky channels. Flat screen TV and kitchenette which is better than going to the bathroom to fill the jug for a cuppa!. The bed was comfortable and two pillows each. The spa bath/bathroom clean and roomy. Definitely would stay here again if the rate was good. It was ok to have a slightly later checkout which was appreciated. Was about a 15min walk into town. Parking right outside your room. Nice heating inside with a oil heater and heat pump. Needed it for the cool Hamilton morning!
Had 1 night at the Kingsgate and had booked for two but were so disappointed in those rooms decided to look for another place for our second night. Very happy to find this one otherwise our weekend may not have been so good.
Thank you Camelot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishdNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Camelot Motor Inn and absolutely loved it! We were vacationing on our honeymoon in New Zealand and out of the 8 hotels we stayed, Camelot was by far the best. Everything in the room is brand new, which is a luxury we did not find in any other place we stayed. We had heard that the Inn was under new management and had only been updated 6 weeks proir to our visit. The pictures of Camelot on tripadvisor do not do this Inn justice. We had a studio room, which had a kitchenette, queen and twin bed, a shower and flat screen tv, plus free broadband. Even the fixtures were new and you can tell that the new owners care about their guests comfort. We would strongly recommend staying here. Especially if you are in town to go to a rugby game because the hotel is in walking distance from the stadium.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, modern and new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent a week driving around the N. Island and this was by far the nicest, cleanest roomiest, most attractive place we stayed. The staf was very friendly and helpful, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spotless. We especially appreciated having menus for nearby restaurants in our room so we could see what was available befor we decided where to dine. We could come back to the Camelot without hesitation any time we are in Hamilton.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattykathy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan BC Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We visited Hamilton in January 2011 looking to book a hotel for the Japan-New Zealand game of the Rugby World Cup in September. We were staying at a hotel that did not come up to our expectations and chanced across the Camelot which was almost across the street. The hotel location was excellent as it is in close proximity to the stadium, shops, food and restaurants
The tariff was good and they were not increasing it to gouge the overseas tourists. We made a one night deposit to hold the room and returned to Canada.
We arrived on schedule and were booked into a room. It was fully equipped although the TV was not very modern.
Management and staff were very friendly and the room was spotless. Parking was very convenient

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwinhourihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot On Ulster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot On Ulster

Property: Camelot On Ulster
Address: 231 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Camelot Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot On Ulster 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot on Ulster is a family owned and operated motel. New manager Mark Boe fondly remembers growing up at Camelot in the days when his parents built and ran the motel. Now Mark is back with his partner Alix Stevens, and together they are proud and excited to welcome you to Camelot where they endeavour to give you a warm and comfortable stay with that special family feel. Camelot on Ulster is conveniently situated in central Hamilton. It is just a short distance from Centre Place Mall and other central city retail stores, Te Awa the Base, and walking distance to the Waikato Stadium. If you're looking for evening entertainment, Camelot on Ulster is close to the Skycity Casino, three movie theatres and several nightclubs and bars. And if it's dining out you want then there are many restaurants nearby or if dining in it's just a short walk to several supermarkets. Having recently upgraded our rooms and facilities, Camelot on Ulster provides modern, clean and spacious accommodation that is affordable. We offer friendly service for all travellers: from overnight guests, business travellers, families and those requiring long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camelot On Ulster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing