We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, dirty and rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Backpackers Hamilton
Tokoroa
1 review
“Small, dirty and rude”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

what air conditioning ? its stuffy in there and its still winter imagen what it would be like in the summer , it smells like old persons fart, and there is only one tiny window that dont even have a brezze coming through, the shower and toilet was untidy, the hostel lady is a grump and rude maybe shes just like that to a selected few but my group of friends where treated rudely and our personal spaces where invaded left a light on in our room and when we came back the light was turned of, this could not had been done unless someone had entered the room with a key, we found her to be unprofessional no ID was asked for No recepit given and we had to find our own way to our rooms. other guest that where staying there where drinking and highly intoxicated is this appropriate behaviour for a hostel that is so close to the CBD and some of the guests where asked to leave (like find another accomodation) at 11.30 pm by the hostel lady and she knew they where highly intoxicated - guess? how they got their BY CAR!! guess? how they left BY CAR!!, this was not right she should had not let them drink here in the first place knowing to right they would get intoxicated and loud and out of control she did not show good host responsibilty nor did she own the problem when it was a dressed, they could had caused an accident on the road not only did she put them in danger she put others at risk as well,she should had not kicked them out if she let them get that way in first places, there was nothing in place for a back up for this kind of behivour no other transportation was provided or other alternatives. I would not reccomend this place to stay unless you want to stay in a grampy tiny room with a smell and a unprofessional, grumpy,hostel lady

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwicksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
2
20
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2008

this is hands down the most disgusting and awful place I've ever stayed - and I recently backpacked around india!!!
we booked online as we were arriving late and figured it looked ok on the website and it was only one night. if it hadn't been so late I would have left and checked into another hotel/motel.
The room was tiny, like the other review, it stank like it hadn't been aired in the last ten years, the blinds were broken so anyone walking past (it was ground floor) could look straight in, the were hairs all over the pillows and sheets had marks that led us to believe the bedding had not been changed from the last guests! the door didn't lock so we had to hang a blanket over the broken blinds and prop a chair in front of the door.
we were promptly woken by a smoker with a hacking, flemy cough sitting outside near our room spitting on the ground.
would never ever stay there again. a complete rip off even considering it was only $100 a night.

  • Liked — Nothing!!!!
  • Disliked — Filthy,old, smelly, door didn't lock, spitting smoker outside door
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teamjayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dunedin
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed in the studio with shower ensuite. The room was very compact, however this was fine as it is what we had expected and we were only staying one night. However we were disgusted by the cleanliness of the unit. It smelt very musty when we first arrived, like the window/door had not been opened, this was fixed by opening the window and airing the room out. The kitchenette was good, except for having to try to fill the jug in the bathroom handbasin (which because of the style of the tap proved a little difficult). We were disgusted that the coffee mugs that were provided were filthy, with coffee stains in the bottom, and mouth marks round the rim. Not surprising though, the tiny dishwashing liquid container was empty, and they would have had to been washed in the bathroom handbasin anyway. There was no soap in the either of the two dispensers in bathroom. The batteries in the TV remote were flat. When we arrived back after dinner there were no parking spaces available. We were told we could park in the car park of a place next door (we said we would be checking out at 10am, and parking there till then was apparently ok). We also thought this was kind of rude as we were staying in one of the more expensive rooms. The next morning at approx 8.15am, we were woken by a phone call telling us we had to move our car. Pretty rude, we would have parked on the street if we had known we would be woken early. On top of all this the spa was out of order (dont think i would have used it anyway looking at the cleanliness everywhere else). The unit could have done with some soundproofing also as it was on ground floor with stairs above it and driveway beside it. This motel is cheap and you barely what you pay for, and for less you can get better staying in a cabin at a motor camp.

  • Disliked — It was not clean
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

The MicroTel is located a short driving distance from downtown Hamilton. There is nothing exciting about the hotel, and "micro" definitely describes it well. Everything - from the parking lot to the rooms to the TVs - is small. That said, our room had all amenities one might want, including a minifridge, microwave, tea, coffee, sugar, and a full bathroom with tub. The entire hotel was very clean, and the night stay was cheap. The MicroTel advertizes "compact luxury". The "luxury" part of it probably refers to the mints left on our bed.

  • Liked — Cheap & clean
  • Disliked — Very small
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Systeme-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagles Nest Backpackers
Eagles Nest Backpackers
#8 of 17 in Hamilton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Backpackers Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Backpackers Hamilton

Property: Microtel Backpackers Hamilton
Address: 140 Ulster Street, Hamilton, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Hamilton Microtel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Backpackers Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Backpackers Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hamilton
Hamilton Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing