We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great values for money”

Victoria Hotel Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel Suites
Ranked #17 of 24 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great values for money”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed here 6 times this year. What does that tell you? The place is clean, the owners and staff are very helpful and polite. Ample parking underneath, cool ice machine. Rooms are clean, very roomy with an awesome bathroom. Can be a bit noisy in some rooms from the nightlife. However they do warn you at time of booking in. But if you are part of the nightlife, who cares. Right in the heart of the city.
Will always stay there next year too! Come on the the Chiefs 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fr0ggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
11
14
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our suite was supposed to be "luxury" but was nothing of the sort. I squashed a cockroach in the hall, there were ants in the glasses, and cigarette butts in the lift. The bedrooms had no windows, the lounge windows didn't open, the bathroom smelt mouldy, and the toilet was filthy. The view was of rusty old iron. In one of the bedrooms the light seemed to be a dim 20 watts. The curtain was only partly attached to the rail. The appliances were faulty and there were no Sky channels as advertised in the brochures. I saw staff cleaning the floors with bath towels. The couch had holes in it. Street kids were taking drugs outside the front door. Need I go on? Avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here for a night with a friend and thought it was great value. It might look basic from the outside (white throughout, no decoration), but the room was very spacious and bathroom was nice and clean. It seemed like it used to be a studio apartment and turned hotel. Parking was included and location was excellent - tons of restaurants and cafes on Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed one night, choosing it because it was in the centre of Hamilton. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment. The main sitting room with kitchenette was cavernous and badly lit which gave the whole apartment a dingy feel, even though it was perfectly clean and equipped. The bedroom had much better lighting and was more welcoming. The shower room was slightly dated but perfectly fine. The parking is behind the hotel and easy to find once we stopped at the front to check where to go. The entrance from the front and the car park feels like the entrance to a city centre apartment block rather than a hotel (not a problem, just different). The staff were helpful: the hairdryer in the unit sparked while I was using it and they quickly brought me another one. We had a room at the front on a weekend night and it was too noisy - there are a lot of bars in Hamilton and it was a bit too noisy in the early hours. In retrospect one of the key places we were in the area to visit was Hamilton Gardens and therefore it would make sense to stay on the outskirts near them, or around Cambridge.

Room Tip: Say if you need a quiet room as our bedroom at the front was too noisy on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I had a look at the hotel info online before we arrived in. A woman came down first and told us the price for a night, when I mentioned about the online pricing was a bit different which is cheaper, she said in that case we need to pay $5 booking fee (It clearly says no booking fee on line!) she then went inside of the office quickly typed something on the PC and immediately I can see on my phone that online vacancy is no longer available. HOW DODGY! As soon as I questioned her about the disappearance of 5 available vacancies online, her attitude changed to very aggressive, basically telling us either stay with the price she named or get out. At the same time I have noticed a man in the office started waving his hand to us wanted us to leave. What a 'team work' aye?

We are glad we didn't stay in that place after reading many feedbacks about how dirty the rooms are, guess that's reflection of the owners/staff?

There are many nice motels on Ulster Street if you want a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked online. Great price, fantastic service, well appointed. If you want a great room at reasonable rates close to the centre of town you will not do better than this. Friendly hosts and nothing was a problem (not that there were any). Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked this hotel due to wanting to walk around the bars and not have to catch cabs, and found it close enough to all the bars, yet far away enough for there to be no noise heard from the clubs. I arrived about 8.30pm on a Saturday evening yet found a free secure parking space under the building. The room was spacious with modern, comfy decor.
The managers were very friendly, helpful and went out of their way to help. Even though my room didn't have a view, it didn't worry me as I got it at a reasonable rate and left early in the morning. I did find the doves a bit noisy though so if you intend to sleep in - pack some earplugs. I really liked the uniqueness of the artwork too. The building was secure and there is a strict rule to have no parties on site and the managers live on site to be oncall if needed.

Room Tip: Its a little bit of a walk from the car to the reception or lift, so I would recommend taking a whee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#46 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
VR Hamilton Hotel
VR Hamilton Hotel
#47 of 63 in Hamilton
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel Suites

Property: Victoria Hotel Suites
Address: 303 Victoria Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Victoria Hotel Suites - for affordable, quality accommodation in the central heart of downtown Hamilton. Ideally located on one of Hamilton’s most popular city streets, Victoria Hotel Suites is close to the central business district, walking distance to great local cafes and in the middle of Hamilton’s vibrant restaurant scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing