We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dissapointing”
Review of Jukebox Diner

Jukebox Diner
Ranked #93 of 365 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Waikato
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little dissapointing”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The place looks fantastic but the food was not that great and the service was almost non existent.

We went in, and no one made eye contact with us, or spoke to us. We stood in front of the front counter for some time then just picked up some menus and sat down. Some of the waitresses had noticed us and walked past us several times but they made no contact. We were sitting down for about 15 minutes and still no one working there said anything so we just went back to the front counter and ordered.

We ordered the Betty page burger, the fish burger, vege burger and the american hotdog.
Each with curly fries and shakes. The shakes were delicious but the burgers were average at best. I would much prefer a whopper jnr over the $13 burgers we got. When you pay that much for a burger I was much more hoping for something better than what my dad had chucked together after a night out out at the pub. Comparing the burgers to the price equivalent of something at burger fuel there is quite a distance in quality and taste.

We sat around and chatted for another hour and half and no one came to check on us or offered to take our plates away. Something the 50's era, which the place is modeled on, is renowned for....service.

Im glad I tried it, but most likely will not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicadeemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Warning- unsafe children's play area”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Meeting a friend for coffee our young sons played in the children's play area. My son had in his mouth a button battery which are extremely toxic and can be fatal. Upon further inspection of the area found other objects including another battery and a coin that are potential choking hazards.no response from owner regarding the danger. Would also question the cleanliness.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug19812013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Kuiti
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy, busy”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently a group of 10 of us went here for lunch. It was a Saturday and obviously word has got around that it is the place too go. It was very busy and we had to wait awhile but definately worth the wait. The staff did apologize when we ordered and advised us there would be a delay which was great. Food really yummy and well presented and coffee really good too. We will definately be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food, neat atmosphere and great service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have dined in a couple of times recently and got take out and the food is outstanding. Staff really friendly. Service is quick. Meals are really decent size. Chicken burger is yum. Fish and chips fantastic too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Driving past & spotted the Jukebox Diner so decided to stop for lunch. Great choice. Service was excellent plus quick, & the food was delicious & fresh. Typical 'Diner' menu & excellent atmosphere. Hubby had nachos which he enjoyed & I had a burger which was delicious & really fresh. Kids chose a mini hotdog from the kids menu & it was served with chips & salad. Everything was well priced. Lots of themed things to look at plus there is a museum attached (we didn't visit it though).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jukebox Diner also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Jukebox Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing