We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Atmosphere”

Mexico Food and Liquor
Ranked #40 of 365 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just Opened
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I wasn't really sure what to expect from Mexico but I was pretty curious to try it out. Certainly did not disappoint! Food was delicious, staff were friendly and really helpful, and the informal atmosphere of the whole restaurant was really refreshing. Drinks were a wee bit on the pricey side but were made really well and the bar staff had excellent service so I didn't really mind.

I'd definitely go back but this time with a bigger group so I could try everything!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    89
    34
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Buzzing atmosphere, great service even though it was really busy, the staff guided is through the menu , fab food to share, excellent evening!

Helpful?
Thank Normbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOT MEXICAN AT ALL!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Texan living in Hamilton and have been eating mexican food as long as I can remember and I can tell you this is not mexican food. This place should not called Mexico! Kiwis might buy it but not me. One taco is 6 bucks and not worth it at all and really should'nt be called a taco. Nice decor but thats all. I won't be coming back here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, affordable price!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

After hearing a few people say positive things we decided to check it out...Did not disappoint! Tapas like menu with fantastic tasting food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a fan”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Well it's no secret I love Mexico in Auckland so had to try the one in Hamilton and not disappointed at all. Staff very friendly, another great setting and food fresh and tasty.
Went back twice in two days while on conference just so I could take different people with me and introduce them to the highlight that is Mexico :)
Well done guys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Food and Liquor also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Mexico Food and Liquor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing