We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a fan”

Mexico Food and Liquor
Ranked #32 of 361 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: just opened
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a fan”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Well it's no secret I love Mexico in Auckland so had to try the one in Hamilton and not disappointed at all. Staff very friendly, another great setting and food fresh and tasty.
Went back twice in two days while on conference just so I could take different people with me and introduce them to the highlight that is Mexico :)
Well done guys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    87
    34
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went twice while visiting Hamilton. Once it was 2 of us and the seond time with 10 people. Wonderful friendly service and very informative about the menu. Great food although let them know if you don't like hot food. Only complaint would be the music was a bit loud but the food made up for that. Very interesting way to eat. Really enjoyed it and would recommend a visit to this restuarant. A must try is the Virgin Margarita - delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eltekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have eaten quite a few times here, and its always so good. The service is really quick and the food is brilliant, fresh and so tasty. I highly recommend the black plum margarita!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant Mexican in a bright interesting bar”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were in Hamilton for a week and ate here three times! Everything we tried was delicious and required sharing. The spiciness was always balanced by flavour. Interesting combinations, great flavours. This is a lively pub so if you plan to bring kids, go at lunchtime. I don't know whose job it is to light all those candles every night but they have my sympathy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for a Sunday lunch ( looks more fun for a Friday drinks )”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Came here with the family for a Sunday lunch, had a few small things. Pretty good for a 4 year old, food, entertainment and take home mask. Only flaw would be the volume of the music. For a while we were the only ones in th place so having to lean in to each other and shout wasn't great. Still. Good service, good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguelsancheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Food and Liquor also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Mexico Food and Liquor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing