We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome night out”

Mexico Food and Liquor
Ranked #32 of 362 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: just opened
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome night out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to the Mexico restaurant after some great friends reviews, and we weren't disappointed. Great having some authentic drinks upstairs, and even though there was a bit of a wait for a table we were keep well informed by Pedley as to the time for seating. When we did get to the table the food was fantastic, and not what I expected. Excellent sized and well priced meals, with the chorizo dish and and the ribs being a favourite.Of course it all had to washed down with some charaf's of Sangria. Highly recommended, and we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    87
    34
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love the flavours”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed the fact that you order lots of small servings. Plenty of variety, heaps of flavour. Quite noisy, but the food is great.
Was surprised that the servers weren't really in a uniform, other than a headband for the ladies - first impression on the servers were that they could have been a patron of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExcitedTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Depends what you going for....”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went for a birthday - a group of 11 and booked in (they take bookings for groups of 10 or more) which means for $30 a head a set menu (not dessert)....Intense!!! Loud music, skinny tables, bench seats and they like to cram you in. Good for a quickish meal wouldn't want to be there a long time! We decided the food was yum but the ideal group size would be 4 and 6 absolute tops cos it's hard to hear the people even sitting (very closely!)beside you. Sangria cocktails were lovely! A good meal but know what you are going to. Sort of got the feeling they were pushing as many people through as possible - a few less with a bit more personal space would have been nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seekiwiscanfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing experience - totally different from anything else in Hamilton”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is incredible. We went there for dinner in a group of four. It's basically super-gourmet tapas, with lots of variation and food to die for!

We ordered a soft taco each and then a bunch of dishes to share. I would definitely recommend the Prawn Taco and the Fried Chicken. The desserts were amazing - really unusual stuff. We tried all of them between us, and I especially liked the semolina pudding with fruit and agave syrup.

The wait staff are very friendly and helpful. I agree with Shane B that it's not the right place for an intimate dinner - it's busy and noisy, but lots of fun. The best meal I've had out in I don't know how long.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I should start with a disclaimer. If you're from southern California, this is not the Mexican food you're going to be expecting. It's nonetheless very good. They seat you in what has been described to me as "New York style," basically seating you next to strangers on long tables. It really added to the experience, actually, as our tablemates all were interesting and engaging. Service was good and the beer was cold.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Food and Liquor also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Mexico Food and Liquor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing