We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Astra Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astra Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Would recommend this lodge to anybody wanting the best accommodation, beautifully presented, everything you need in the room and more, luxury bathroom, fantastic bed and best of all, the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Bronny and Steven - a credit to the hospitality industry.
Staying in Hamilton? - this is the first place to try for a perfect stay.
Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Andy,

Your kind words are very much appreciated. All aspects of the rooms are continuing to get big wraps like the beds which some guests have purchased. As hosts we are always trying to improve on our standards and service so it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and we will make sure that your expectations are meet while at the Astra Motor lodge.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 396 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Quality modern lodgings, extremely well presented and clean. Top people and service. We'll be back for sure. Very handy to everything central and North. TV has HDMI and USB if you which many hotels/motels do not have.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nigeandvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Nige & Vicki,

Many thanks for staying with us at the Astra Motor Lodge, much appreciated. Hamilton is a great central spot as most local attractions are a short drive, like Hobinton and Waitomo Caves both 40 minutes away. We look forward to hosting you again next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This one year old motor inn was wonderful. I left a pair of pants in my room when I checked out. The owner knew I was going a local garden and tracked me down to return them.

The room was fully equip. Refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher etc.

They had several unites on the ground floor outfitted for persons with disabilities.

It has earned TripAdvisor's #1 rating.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CGSinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi George,

Thank you for your kind words. It was great meeting you and learning your life experiences.
We like to know where our guests have come from and heading to so if anything is left behind we can get it to them as soon as possible. We hope the rest of your trip went well and look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting NZ.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Astra motor lodge. It is superb value for money. It is clean, immaculate and very nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast was generous and good quality food. It thoroughly deserves it's rating on Tripadvisor. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Sian,

Many thanks for your kind words, much appreciated. We are still getting plenty of interest on the Sleepyhead beds and therefore guests still buying these. We look forward to catching up again soon.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Hamilton Gardens. The Executive Spa Apartment was new, modern, clean and roomy with a kitchenette including microwave and stovetop. Slightly noisy but not too bad considering its on a major road. It is a short drive from the tourist attractions and shopping. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Momfan,

Thank you for your review and kind words. The Hamilton Gardens certainly get a lot of visitors and why not as it has a great facility, great gardens and has the bonus of being free to enter. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Hamilton.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our family spent one night here and cannot fault the quality of the accommodation or the service. We usually stay at the Novotel, but this easily surpasses that on both size, quality and value. If it weren't for our two littlies keeping us awake, the beds and quiet room would've meant we had a great night's sleep! Thanks Steve for your excellent hospitality.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom deluxe executive apartment (room 12) has tonnes of space... great for a family with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adelethurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Adele,

Many thanks for your review, much appreciated. Solid concrete and double hush glass stops all noise except when children are involved. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to catching up aging soon, maybe as a couple in our deluxe spa room.

Cheers

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife, daughter, and I stayed at the Astra Motor Lodge from 07/04/2014 til 14/04/2014 and have never, in my lifetime, experienced the service that Bronny and Steve provided. Nothing was too much for them. For example, Steve took my fiend and and myself into Hamilton to locate a restaurant that could cater for wheelchair access for my sister who was staying in another room with her carer.
The room was very roomy and had everything that we wanted and more.
Anyone looking to stay just outside of the CBD of Hamilton I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have great amenities and fittings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry_Eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Barry,

Many thanks for your kind words, much appreciated. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family at the Astra Motor Lodge and getting to know you all due to your length of stay . It was my pleasure to head into town to find a suitable restaurant that your sister could get into easily with her electric wheel chair but as we all found out, the Hamilton city could do with better access off the street so these chairs can get to and from the van with ease.
We look forward to hosting you and your family next time you are visiting Hamilton and look forward to keeping in touch.

Kind Regards

Steven, Bronny & Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Motor Lodge

Address: 47 Kahikatea Drive, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $105 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astra Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious New Motor Lodge located by Braemar Private Hospital and a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital. CBD local restaurants and cafes are all within 5 mins in the car. Visit our beautiful gardens or enjoy a stroll around the lake. The 16 beautifully appointed apartment style rooms all with king and superking beds -(can be split into two singles). Sky Guest select with 50 channels plus in everyroom. Full kitchens. Double showers some with twin heads.Spa Baths, heat pump/air-conditioning in everyroom, Ultra fast broadband, wifi, guest laundry. Continental and cooked breakfasts available, with Gluten free options. Plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Astra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing