We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Astra Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astra Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

As we were just passing through it looked a nice place to pull in to for the night.We were made very welcome from the start ( even though we had a very serious oil leak from our vintage ) and our room was immaculate and very very clean and tidy . Couldn't say a bad word about the place and the freshly ground coffee given on our arrival was very welcomed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi Elaine,

Many thanks for your kind words. The freshly ground coffee certainly hits the spot with the coffee lovers. We hope that the rest of your dive was successful and that you did get that leak sorted.

Please do pop in next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 396 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Bronney and Stephen offered to shuttle us to and from the hospital.

They were attentive and warm.

Food was awesome, cooked and continental breakfast options were both great.


Delivery dinners and desserts from a local restaurant quality delivery business were outstanding with ordering dealt with from the office.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated. Taking our guests to and from the Hospital is just a small service that the Astra Motor Lodge will always provide. Most guests requiring the Hospital do not need the hassle of trying to find car parks so we take that hassle away.

We do have a great delivery service and great food from local restaurants that helps all guest that do not wish to venture out. Take care and please think of us next time you require a bed.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed chose to stay here based on the trip advisor reviews-we were glad we did!
The facility and our room were spotless. Our room was very quiet yet the hotel is centrally located. Steven and Bronny were very helpful and terrific hosts; the freshly ground coffee was a nice touch! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Bruce,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We have meet and continue to meet some fantastic people and feel lucky to be able to do so. The freshly ground coffee is a small touch for the coffee connoisseurs.

We look forward to your next stay at the Astra Motor Lodge.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My adult son and I came into Hamilton to go to a rugby game. We never expected the motel owner to drive us to the game! But that's what Steve did. We met his family, had a beer, and enjoyed the game all the more for it. Rooms are very clean, very comfortable, and if you want to stay someplace where the hosts go out of their way to help you, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosalindii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi Rosalindii,

It was great meeting you both and it was our pleasure to take you along to the rugby. Even better that the Chiefs won. You were able to sample some of the local refreshments and take in a great game so many thanks for allowing us to be part of your experiences. We look forward to hosting you or any of your friends and family next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Steve and Bronny are the supreme hosts. You are made to feel so welcome by this friendly and accommodating couple. It was obvious that this is the way they are with all guests as I observed them interacting with other guests during my short stay. A glass of wine on arrival was so welcome and such a nice touch and so welcome after a long drive and a tiring day.

This place was on the outskirts of Hamilton and I was not looking forward to driving into town for an evening meal. However, Bronny showed me a local food delivery company menu which I ordered from and had delivered to my room. Stunning food and a good price. Thanks Bronny.

Although being on a main road, the rooms had double gazing so any car noise was not a bother. The facilities are modern and clean with free WiFi. Just perfect really.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JeffBChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for your review and kind words, much appreciated. That food company has certainly hit the spot with all our guests that have ordered. As you mentioned, good food and good price delivered to your door. We hope that you pop in next time you are Hamilton or if just passing through, there is always that glass of wine.

Take Care

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for a night for a freinds wedding.The hosts are fantastic and the rooms are gorgeous. I was sad I didn't have long enough stay to try the spa bath. Wonderfully clean and everything ou could want. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi Julie,

Many thanks for your review. Next time you visit Hamilton we will make sure that the Spa bath is available for you. They are popular with our guests so we will make sure one is ready for you to use.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We agree with the previous posts - the best motel hosts! From the moment we arrived until we left we had a fabulous experience. Steve was very helpful organising a shuttle for us to go into town for dinner. The room was lovely and the bed was sooo comfy, which my husband really appreciated after cycling from Wellington in the BDO challenge. Would definitely stay again. Another nice touch was the heart shaped chocolates on our pillows for Valentines Day. Thanks Steve and Bronny.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi Kim,

We hope that the rest of the cycling was a success as that is a long way to be sitting on a small seat. We were glad that you enjoyed your night in town and that fantastic Sleepyhead bed. The shuttle ride takes any hassle out of driving and trying to find a park.

We both look forward to hosting you next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Kind Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Motor Lodge

Address: 47 Kahikatea Drive, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $95 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astra Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious New Motor Lodge located by Braemar Private Hospital and a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital. CBD local restaurants and cafes are all within 5 mins in the car. Visit our beautiful gardens or enjoy a stroll around the lake. The 16 beautifully appointed apartment style rooms all with king and superking beds -(can be split into two singles). Sky Guest select with 50 channels plus in everyroom. Full kitchens. Double showers some with twin heads.Spa Baths, heat pump/air-conditioning in everyroom, Ultra fast broadband, wifi, guest laundry. Continental and cooked breakfasts available, with Gluten free options. Plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Astra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing