We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astra Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quest on Ward(Hamilton)
$106
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Ibis Hamilton Tainui(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
    $89
    $69
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    $93
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $105
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $87
    $84
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $132
    $108
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    $99
    $87
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $87
    $85
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $81
    $79
    Hotwire.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $97
    $94
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (405)
    Filter reviews
    405 results
    Traveler rating
    346
    48
    7
    1
    3
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    346
    48
    7
    1
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsfreshly ground coffeedouble showerwaikato hospitalbusy roadmotor lodgegreat amenitiesmain roadplace to staysky tvshort noticeexcellent accommodationmodern roomshamilton gardenson arrivalcomfy bedfree wifidouble glazing
    Filter
    Updating list...
    328 - 333 of 405 reviews
    Reviewed January 23, 2014

    Bronny and Steve are amazing hosts - so friendly and accommodating. They even cooked our meals for us on a couple of occasions when were visiting my dad in hospital. Only a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital and a short walk to the track/path around the lake. This would have to be the best motel I've ever stayed in - will definitely be staying here again when in Hamilton.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ChrisED18
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

    Hi Chris,

    Many thanks for your review, much appreciated. We hope you can visit us again under better circumstances. It was certainly now hassle for us to make sure you were all feed properly while spending such a long day at the Hospital. We look forward to catching up again soon.

    Regards

    Bronny & Steven

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 19, 2014

    We stayed at the Astra Motor Lodge last September and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The motel was immaculately clean, the service was very attentive and helpful and the unit was well equipped and comfortable

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AFR2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

    We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on the Astra Motor Lodge. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to providing you with all those little comforts aging next time you are in Hamilton.

    Kind Regards

    Bronny & Steven

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 15, 2014

    You will not find a better accommodation in Hamilton and possibly the whole country. This place has the best of all worlds - rooms like a 5* hotel, the comfort of a motor lodge with convenient access to the rooms, and the hospitality of a B & B. Not one detail was missed in the construction of this lodge - right down to the choice of towels and toiletries.
    Steve, Bronny, and Harrison are what we would call "salt of the earth" - the pride they take in the running of this lodge is evident and their kindness is unparallelled.
    We WILL be back - Thank you for a wonderful 3 days!!!

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Robyn L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

    Hi Robyn,

    Thank you for your kind words. We absolutely loved having you and your family stay with us at the Astra Motor Lodge. Arriving as strangers and leaving as friends epitomisers your stay with us. We loved meeting you all and of course providing that leg of lamb on the BBQ. Harrison would love to thank you for the Loony and Toony coins and talks about them all the time. We look forward to seeing you all in the future and will keep in touch.
    Safe travels for the rest of your trip.

    Bronny, Steven & Harrison

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 14, 2014

    This was our first night of a 10 day driving holiday in NZ.

    We decided to get out of Aukland immediatly on arriving in NZ and choose Hamilton as it is an easy hour and a bit drive on a motorway.

    I read the comments on the Astra before booking and must say they are spot on.
    This is a fantastic motel, the best we stayed in on our trip in the first week of Jan'14.

    We stayed here twice, on our way out and on our way back to the airport.

    Both rooms were the same, large, very well appointed, clean, chic and modern.

    Broony and Steve were just so welcoming. They gave us a beer on arrival on New Years Eve and invited us to their private party that evening.
    When Sue left her bag the next moring we had to return from Rototua and Steve offered to meet us half way.

    These are the type of hosts you want to meet on your travels, they make you feel welcome and give that extra to make their motel a home away from home.

    I take my hat off to these two as they have a business that will succeed for all the right reasons.

    Stay here, you will not be dissappointed and its a great intro to the Kiwi's.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Tom G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

    Hi Tom,

    Many thanks for your kind words, Much appreciated. We provide those little things just make your stay with us hassle free and on a hot day after traveling a long distance a nice cold drink hits the spot. It was great meeting you both and we look forward to catching up next time you are in Hamilton.

    Kind Regards

    Bronny & Steven

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 11, 2014

    We stayed at the motels during late December as we had a family member in at the hospital.
    We found the hospitality and understanding given by Bronny and Steven exceptional and above and beyond their call of duty as we never knew from day to day what we would be doing.
    The rooms were Modern and clean and the beds are fantastic.
    As we are a fussy couple we cannot find fault and give a double thumbs up and highly recommend to anyone.

    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank m w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

    Hi M.W,

    Many thanks for your review, much appreciated. We are certainly flexible when it comes to room availability and check out times for those guests that are involved with the Hospital. It is stressful enough being there all day so we try to accommodate all guests to suit their plans.
    It was great meeting you both and we look forward to providing that same service next tie you are in Hamilton.

    Regards

    Bronny & Steven

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews